We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Jack the Ripper tour”

Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours
Ranked #94 of 807 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Jack the Ripper Tours with Ripping Yarns have been the leading Jack the Ripper tours in Whitechapel for over 25 years. We remain a small Company who believe that small Group Sizes and personal interaction will surpass your expectations, as opposed to the Larger Advertised Companies who now Operate in the area. The Tour is recommended in the Rick Steves Guide book to London. The cost is just £8.00, Where else could you get a great night in London for that price? But perhaps the best measure of the Tour comes from our many customers. which are a fitting testament to the level of satisfaction. All the Guides are serving Yeoman Warders (Beefeaters) at the Tower of London, so you can be assured that your Guide knows how to conduct a tour properly and "tell a tale" the content is such that it weaves the story of Jack the Ripper, the social background and the history of the area, helping to paint the most vivid mental picture of life and death in London's East End.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

My family did the tour with Ken on 16 July 2013. With so many Jack the Ripper walking tours available, we weren't sure which one to go on. We could not be happier with the tour by Ripping Yarns. Ken was so great with all his comedic antics. He made the walk exciting, informative and we felt very safe while walking some not so pleasant areas of London. Would definitely do this tour again and highly recommend it to all Jack the Ripper fans.

1  Thank Julie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Ken



Remember we are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (837)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 76 reviews
"tower hill tube station"
in 29 reviews
"great tour"
in 69 reviews
"white chapel"
in 24 reviews
"whitechapel area"
in 10 reviews
"a great story teller"
in 9 reviews
"small group"
in 26 reviews
"two hours"
in 37 reviews
"yeoman warder"
in 23 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 24 reviews
"knew his stuff"
in 15 reviews
"set the scene"
in 10 reviews
"would highly recommend this tour"
in 17 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 13 reviews
"hour walk"
in 8 reviews
"entertaining tour"
in 8 reviews
"ask questions"
in 10 reviews
Filter

633 - 637 of 837 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

Our guide was fabulous and took us all the way through the 5 core ripper murders - it was very dark but very interesting. Not only did we get to learn about this part of London history but got to see the city at night.

2  Thank Jill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to the team



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our family did the tour with Beefeater Dickie on 10th July 2013. This was the second time my husband and I had done this tour (first time back in 1996) and second time around it did not disappoint. Dickie tells a great story, taking you back in time to explain the life and times of the people trapped in the slums of Whitechapel in 1888. His commentary was informative, interesting, and amusing and did not dwell too much on the gruesome nature of the subject at hand. Not being asked to pay til the end of the tour is unusual, but from what we saw everyone willingly paid. Dickie was happy to take questions and point out other interesting buildings and facts along the tour. My husband is sure that Dickie is onto the real killer!

2  Thank Kaye H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Dickie,



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2013

This was my second Ripper tour with this company and our guide Chris was excellent both very informative and humorous. The tour group was no larger than 10 people which made for a more manageable number compared to other tours we saw trailing around. My wife was fascinated by the story and the walking tour gave us a real insight into the lives of normal Londoners both past and present . This is highly recommended as an alternative night out in London . All the guides work as Beefeaters at the Tower of London .

1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Chris and the team,



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Execrable puns aside, this is a great tour. Our Beefeater guide, Chris, was knowledgeable and personable. Also, the groups tend to be small; there were only four or five people other than the two of us. We saw several other tours with mobs of people who could not have even heard much of what their guides were saying.
I heartily recommend the Ripping Yarns tour to anyone interested in the known facts of the case - as well as some interesting speculation.

Thank David_R_Long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2018

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Chris,



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing