We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dickie rules!”

Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours
Ranked #80 of 751 Tours in London
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Jack the Ripper Tours with Ripping Yarns have been the leading Jack the Ripper tours in Whitechapel for over 25 years. We remain a small Company who believe that small Group Sizes and personal interaction will surpass your expectations, as opposed to the Larger Advertised Companies who now Operate in the area. The Tour is recommended in the Rick Steves Guide book to London. The cost is just £8.00, Where else could you get a great night in London for that price? But perhaps the best measure of the Tour comes from our many customers. which are a fitting testament to the level of satisfaction. All the Guides are serving Yeoman Warders (Beefeaters) at the Tower of London, so you can be assured that your Guide knows how to conduct a tour properly and "tell a tale" the content is such that it weaves the story of Jack the Ripper, the social background and the history of the area, helping to paint the most vivid mental picture of life and death in London's East End.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Much better than expected, very vivid, informative, and interactive tour. Our guide Dickie was very professional with a touch of humor, acting, and ability to fascinate; one of the perks is that he pointed out many interesting places and facts not connected with the main topic, but worth knowing/visiting in the future. Definitely worth the price; highly recommended!

8  Thank Puma_in_zoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

He does indeed

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Dickie,



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (792)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"walking tour"
in 75 reviews
"tower hill tube station"
in 27 reviews
"white chapel"
in 25 reviews
"great tour"
in 66 reviews
"whitechapel area"
in 9 reviews
"story teller"
in 12 reviews
"two hours"
in 36 reviews
"beefeater guide"
in 9 reviews
"yeoman warder"
in 22 reviews
"his knowledge"
in 23 reviews
"set the scene"
in 10 reviews
"knew his stuff"
in 14 reviews
"small group"
in 22 reviews
"hour walk"
in 8 reviews
"wear comfortable shoes"
in 12 reviews
"spend an evening"
in 9 reviews
"highly recommend this tour"
in 15 reviews
Filter

628 - 632 of 792 reviews

Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just got back from London today and all that the kids could talk about was the jack the ripper tour. Both girls aged 12 and 13 I asked them before hand if they knew who jack was, both replied no. I wondered how long it would be before they wanted to leave the tour. Our guide was Dickie a brilliant orator and was a hive of information not just on the ripper. The two girls where up front of the tour both stood next to Dickie every time we stopped. I was more scared. all I can say is brilliant.

7  Thank owen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Dickie,



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2013

My girlfriend and I live in London but we had never been on a Jack the Ripper tour and it is something we had always wanted to do. Being Easter Sunday yesterday as we expected, the main tours were fully booked. However, I found that with the Ripping Yarns tour you didn't need to book, the price was £8, and you don't have to pay until the end, depending on if you were satisfied with the tour or not. Dickie was our tour guide who during the day is a Beefeater at the Tower of London. He was incredibly friendly, enthusiastic and knowledgeable. Although the tour perhaps lacks the technology of some of the other tours, Dickie's enthusiasm more than made up for this and to keep everyone interested he would point out other facts about the area as well as facts about the Ripper murders. He even offers to walk you back to Tower Hill underground station (where the tour starts) so if you're not a local, you won't be stranded in Whitechapel. I really enjoyed the tour and £8 was a bargain for a very detailed and friendly experience.

7  Thank Samhinch89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Did you find any eggs?

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Dickie,



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Very informative, entertaining, and gives you the spooks! Our guide Jimmy had everyone engaged and involved throughout.

2  Thank JCoackley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Jimmy,



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We very much enjoyed the tour. Chris was our guide. We had the chance to have him as a guide for the Tower of London tour before. He was engaging and knowledgable during both tours. Because of the smaller group size, we visited areas not accessible to larger groups. Chris took the time to talk to every one of us during our walks. We highly recommend this tour. great value for your money!

2  Thank StephJas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ripping Yarns L, Manager at Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Jack the ripper tours with Ripping Yarns Thank you for your feedback, and will pass it on to Chris,



We are the longest running and cheapest tour in London

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours also viewed

 

Been to Ripping Yarns - Jack the Ripper Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing