We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, good location would stay here again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex London Wall Hotel
Ranked #45 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Background - We were invited to an event in London on a school night and rather than leave early in order to get home we choose to stay in town overnight. I booked via the Apex hotels website about a month in advance and paid £226. This was for a standard double room, room only on a non refundable basis. A few days before the stay I did receive an email from the hotel with various room upgrade offers. I “think” they started from £39, but as we were going to be out all day and in the evening and it was just a one night stay, I didn’t upgrade.

Location - The hotel is on a road called Copthall Avenue, which is just off London Wall. There are shops, cafe’s and bars in this area but its mainly a district of office blocks. Moorgate tube station is 0.2 miles away or about a 3 min walk. Liverpool street station is 0.3 miles or a 5 min walk.

Check-in - On arrival at the reception desk I was very quickly called forward. The receptionist, was very keen to tell me lots of information about the hotel. This was all useful but he didn’t once smile and it did sort of felt like lecture.

Room - Modern central London hotels tend to have fairly small rooms and this was no exception. We did however just have a standard room so I guess that was to be expected. The room had a queen size bed, bedside tables, two telephones, a desk/dressing table, large flat screen tv with free Sky movies/sports, an iPod dock, one large chair with a footstool, large wardrobe but no alarm clock. Inside the wardrobe there was an iron, ironing board, a safe, a mini bar and also a kettle, some cups, tea and coffee and even some free cookies! On the desk there were some jelly beans, pringles, a jar of nuts and a bottle of red wine. The receptionist did warn me that the red wine was not complementary however the jelly beans were. I am not sure about the nuts and pringles.

I get the impression that most guests at this hotel are traveling on their own and for business. The room was modern, clean, tidy, practical and great for one or two nights, but you could be in any city in the world. Wifi was included and you need to enter both a user name and a password to access it.

Bathroom - Large bathroom, with separate bath and large shower cubical. Next to the sink there was one bottle of shampoo, one bottle of shower gel, one bottle of hand cream and a bar of soap. All nice quality stuff but why do hotels think that one bar of soap or bottle of shower gel is enough? And why do they think next to the sink is the best place for the shower gel and the shampoo? PLEASE put a bottle of shower gel and a bar of soap in the shower cubical and next to the bath, that way guests don’t wet before they discover that the soap is out of reach.

Apex hotels offer guest a complementary rubber duck to take home. Each of their six hotels has a different duck and they all have names. Very cute and a great marketing tool.

Breakfast - Breakfast wasn’t included in our room rate and this hotel does not feature a buffet style breakfast. We had a cooked english breakfast and some coffee, total cost of two people was £35. It was all very nice but I though a bit expensive.

Final comments - I would be more than happy to stay here again. Its not the Savoy or the Ritz but then its not in the same sort of price range.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camperdown9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,012)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,092 - 1,098 of 2,012 reviews

Reviewed August 15, 2013

Beautiful hotel within short walking distance to two different Underground lines. The attached bar is a place that business people seem to go to for happy hour. As its in a business district it's very quiet on the weekends and almost all the shops in the area are closed. There is a Starbucks & McDonalds that stay open, however. We upgraded to a room with a balcony which was gorgeous. Would definitely recommend unless you really want to be in the middle of a busy area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathleen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

An really good choice for overnight stay prior to heading for Gatwick. More luxurious than expected from the complimentary jelly beans to the nespresso machine. 20 minutes walk to London Bridge (5 to Farringdon) for the Gatwick express. Within walkingdistance of Tate Modern and the Globe. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coopsontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This is a great hotel for business travel and i use it on a regular basis. The staff are always welcoming, polite and very helpful, with the rooms well furnished and clean. The location is also perfect for the City.

I recommend this hotel to both family and friends for business and personal use and it is a great base from which to see London.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Nice and modern hotel. Well located in the City near Liverpool street train station and subway lines. Great Service. big rooms with plenty of natural light. Excellent shower. Free water and some snacks

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Francisco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I regularly travel to London, but I usually stay in the Central/Western parts of town. I was intrigued by the special packages that APEX was offering and decided to give East London a shot- and I was very happy with my decision. It was very easy to connect to the parts of the city I wanted to see via Tube and Bus. This a great hotel, just be warned that it is in a business focused part of the city and nothing around the hotel is open on the weekend. But Liverpool Street is one Tube stop away (or 10 minute walk) so it's really not too much of a bother.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ryangriffith81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Very nice and quiet hotel in the city area.
Nice and spaces rooms in a great design.
The neighbourhood is very quiet on weekends
Because it is the financial district.
But shoreditch area in walking distance.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scin0026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#62 of 1,077 in London
3,652 reviews
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#85 of 1,077 in London
3,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#49 of 1,077 in London
1,048 reviews
Marylebone
Montagu Place Hotel
Montagu Place Hotel
#34 of 1,077 in London
541 reviews
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Luxury Hotel in London
#55 Business Hotel in London
#119 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: $166 - $465 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the Museum of London, the Barbican Centre and St Paul’s Cathedral, Apex London Wall Hotel is accessible and conveniently located. Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate are just a few minutes’ walk away so you’ll be ideally placed for a business or leisure stay. The hotel has 89 rooms and suites, which are all modern, spacious and equipped with amenities. Each room features a 40” LCD TV with Sky Sports channels, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Elemis toiletries. Take advantage of the hotel’s fitness studio to keep fit during your break or taste some of the city’s best food at Off the Wall Restaurant, where a variety of European inspired dishes fill the menu. Above the exceptional facilities and convenient location, it’s the warm, friendly welcome that ensures your stay is perfect at Apex City of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex London Wall Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing