We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect city weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Apex London Wall Hotel
Ranked #48 of 1,069 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A perfect city weekend”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

This is my second stay at an Apex hotel and I was not disappointed. I had one night booked as a birthday treat and I was delighted to get a free upgrade . My room was big and very comfortable with everything I could need . The service at the reception , the bar and breakfast was excellent . The location is great as its near the tube and the river but down a back street so feels like a bolt hole and if it wasn't for the refurbishment work on the building next door it would of been lovely and quiet . I had an early start so it wasn't a problem for me but if you are wanting a lie in best check the work next door is finished as it starts early even on a Sunday ! The hotel itself was great and I shall be booking at an Apex again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KittyCasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,936 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,452
    407
    60
    13
    4
See reviews for
196
1,019
106
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed recently for one night on a DBB special offer.

Pros ;
Room.Paid £20 extra for superior room with balcony.Worth every penny.Extra [?] King Size bed.Fantastic bathroom with walk in shower and DEEP bath for soaking after a long day in London.No bath salts though.Sit outside and enjoy a drink.Smoke if you wish to.Mini sprays for face and pillow provided along with eye gel.Housekeeper asked if we required a turn-down service.

Breakfast ; Usual superb breakfast from Apex.Choice of Continental or Full British included in price.
Service ; 5* service from all staff.Typical,in our experience,of all Apex hotels.

Cons ;
Coffee in room.The coffee in a filter bag is awkward to open and use.The result is not worth the effort.Poured ours down the sink.Nespresso machine would be more in keeping with the standard of room and Apex standards in general.

Dinner ; Sorry Apex.This is the third time we've dined at Apex [including City and Temple] and we haven't been able to finish a meal yet.
I realise it is difficult to offer a menu to please an international clientele both in choice and quality.Maybe it's time to concentrate on one type of cuisine e.g.Best of British or similar.
The design and flavour of the meals we've had would not encourage casual visitors who are not staying in the hotel and does nothing to dispel the old adage ' never eat in your hotel '.Hence the overall mark of 4*

Would stay again for sure due to the many positives.But we would go out in the evening to eat,reluctantly.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.Floor to ceiling windows give lots of light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear JamesR,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to London. I was delighted that you enjoyed the quality of our contemporary deluxe room product featuring their own private balcony (which i would definitely recommend reserving again should you look at re visiting during the summer), along with the high standards of guest service we work tirelessly to achieve.

It was pleasing to note that through booking directly you managed to take advantage of our Dinner bed and breakfast package which we feel offers fantastic value for money. Thank you for your comments regarding our dinner options and please be assured that we will certainly take your comments into consideration when writing our future seasonal menu options.

I am also happy to say that we will shortly be introducing Nespresso machines for all our Deluxe and Junior Suite room categories affording our customers more variety for their in room tea and coffee options.

I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and do remember when booking to visit our direct website for our best rates and package deals.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 27, 2013

From the moment we stepped through the door the staff could not have been more helpful, helping us with our luggage, upgrading our room and offering us advice about the surrounding area.
Then we arrived at our room, fabulous. Spacious, clean and a wonderful bathroom.

The breakfast next day was delicious and once again the service was great.

Only reason why the hotel didn't get an excellent is that my account was debitted and I was not alerted as to why. Phoning them tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A great base in the city. Very comfortable superior double room, excellent service, attentive staff, quiet, clean stylish hotel. Excellent cocktail bar, but quiet on a Sunday eve.

Only criticisms: 1. Faulty safe. Locking mechanism didn't work and staff were unable to fix it whilst I was staying. Management did offer me use of the safe in reception as an alternative. 2. Couldn't get Bose iPod dock to work. As no technicicians available, gave up and played music on iPad instead!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BethSUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed March 26, 2013

A very stylish hotel with a lively bar and very nice restaurant. We had a free upgrade to a room with a bath as well as a shower - we used both and they were excellent. The room was smart, stylish and spotless, and while not huge was certainly spacious enough. The 40 inch TV had numerous channels including Sky sports 1 and Sky 1. All the staff we had dealings with were helpful and courteous.
Downside is that everything has a 12.5% "Service Charge" added - including drinks I purchased myself from the bar. They also leave space to add a further gratuity as well on the receipt. Unless you argue with it each time, it is mandatory and I wish they would just include it in the stated price. Weekend visitors should know that virtually all the nearby shops and coffee houses seem to close all weekend - presumably because they get most of their trade from the large city businesses during the week. All in all though we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and were very tempted to extend it by an extra night (only the appalling weather stopped us). We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Great hotel, very friendly staff. Good food, nice room and at the weekend, a very peaceful location.The hotel is about 15 minutes from the West end, by tube. Its a 5 minute walk, to 3 tube stations. Because its so quiet in the City, at the weekends, there were no people, sirens or traffic noises. The sound proofing in the rooms, was very good too...no loud loo flushing, or door banging, from other guests. I will be going back.

Becky





  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Becky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Apex

I've been in both Apex London Wall and Temple Court on the same weekend (I like to experiment), so I'll put the same review on both hotels.

The room in the first one was a lot better, without an hesitation (in the first, the room was exceptional, in the second, it was nice also, but smaller and more worn out).

I booked both of them on the Apex web site, which gives you a £10 voucher for each stay, assuming I'll be using it for the breakfast. Bad luck, they are valid for any food or drink, BUT the breakfast

So, I tried cocktails, but the choice was limited by the lack of available ingredients (believe that or not, in both places, they were missing lime, and in one of them, even crushed ice). In the Temple Court I finally opted for a very good ciabatta sandwich.

In the London Wall, I was woken (relatively) early by roadworks right under my window, and as a compensation, I've been offered the breakfast (excellent, by the way).

Depending on your interests, both are very well situated, that's only a matter of choice.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#58 of 1,069 in London
3,519 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#88 of 1,069 in London
3,819 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#38 of 1,069 in London
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
Montcalm Royal London House - City of London
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Property: Apex London Wall Hotel
Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in London
#47 Luxury Hotel in London
#55 Business Hotel in London
#119 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated near the Museum of London, the Barbican Centre and St Paul’s Cathedral, Apex London Wall Hotel is accessible and conveniently located. Liverpool Street Station and Moorgate are just a few minutes’ walk away so you’ll be ideally placed for a business or leisure stay. The hotel has 89 rooms and suites, which are all modern, spacious and equipped with amenities. Each room features a 40” LCD TV with Sky Sports channels, complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi and Elemis toiletries. Take advantage of the hotel’s fitness studio to keep fit during your break or taste some of the city’s best food at Off the Wall Restaurant, where a variety of European inspired dishes fill the menu. Above the exceptional facilities and convenient location, it’s the warm, friendly welcome that ensures your stay is perfect at Apex City of London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex London Wall Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing