We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Everything is spot on” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Apex London Wall Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Apex London Wall Hotel
Ranked #44 of 1,071 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Everything is spot on”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I recently stayed here for a few nights with work in the City. The hotel is ideally located for anyone wanting to explore Central London.

The rooms are well appointed (they have a Bose SoundDock which was massively appreciated), the delux rooms also have a Blu Ray player and two huge TVs.

The dining menu I would say is somewhat limited (I'm a picky eater though) but the breakfast is up there with the best (I find hotels in general to have fairly dismal offerings at brekkie).

This is now my 2nd time staying in an Apex Hotel and my experience with them is that they can almost certainly beat most big chains hands down when it comes to service, staff and overall value for money. I would have no hesitation in recommending Apex London Wall to anyone.

Room Tip: I'm a very light sleeper but the rooms overlooking Copthall Avenue can get a little noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Des_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Des_traveller,

We were delighted to have welcomed you back for your second visit and are pleased that your stay was as pleasant as your first.

Our central location in the city just off Copthall Avenue does afford a comfortable and convenient base from which to further explore the city. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed our A’ La carte breakfast offering and would like to thank you for your comments regarding our room service menu which I am pleased to say is currently being reviewed and will hopefully have some additions and changes in the next few months.

Thank you for continuing to use us as your preferred accommodation choice when you are in the city and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,178
    313
    50
    9
    4
See reviews for
131
851
85
281
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The staff without exception have to be some of the friendliest in London.
The decor is modern and stylish.
The location just off London Wall is a couple of minutes from Liverpool St Station, Moorgate or Bank and bus routes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maggieb041
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Maggieb041,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to London. I was pleased to note that our central location to Bank tube station was convenient and happy to note that you enjoyed the quality of our contemporary room product along with the high standards of guest service we work tirelessly to achieve.

We are very fortunate to have such a committed and passionate team working with us and they were delighted that their efforts in ensuring a personal approach made for a memorable trip.
I do hope that we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon and do remember when booking to visit our direct website for our best rates and package deals.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Had a fantastic stay here on a city break with my husband. The staff were amazing and couldn't do enough, nothing was too much trouble. Our room was contemporary, sky tv with all sports and movie channels, and the best bed I've slept in in any hotel for a very long time.

Although a little quiet, being in the financial district, we found that suited us perfectly. Two tube stations are very nearby and all major sites are accessible within minutes.

Value for money at the London Wall is outstanding, you would pay more than double the rate if it was more centrally located. Elemis toiletries were the cherry o. The cake for me! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank huggies79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear Huggies79,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us and I am pleased that you and your husband found our product and services to be a value for money offering. It was nice to note that the staff interaction and their efforts ensured that you enjoyed your experience and had a comfortable stay.

We do hope that you have taken Wally your complimentary Apex London Wall duck with you to Manchester as he does love travelling. If not then do remember to pick him up on during your next visit.

We look forward to having you back with us again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolivia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

An excellent base for a weekend in London - quiet in the evening, but not very far to the nearest tube station, and a blissful relief from the hustle and bustle of busier areas. Extremely friendly and helpful staff, outstanding. Loved the room and the view from the balcony!

Room Tip: Corner room with balcony was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DLRPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Dear DLRPR,

We were pleased to have welcomed you during your recent visit to the London and are happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us.

It was pleasing to note that you felt we provided a warm and friendly base from where you could explore the “hustle and bustle” of this incredible city and were delighted that you managed to take advantage of our Junior Suite room with the balcony. (These rooms are indeed very popular with both our returning and regular customers alike)

It is with much appreciation that you have kindly recommended our services to other reviewers.
We hope that you had a safe trip back to Bolivia and would encourage you to consider booking directly with us on any return visits for all our best packages and rates.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MD
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

If you're going to be working in London City, then consider this place. The location is great, the staff are well-informed and helpful, check-in and check-out were painless and the rooms were mostly good.

Our room was fine although the bathroom seemed to be about 10 degrees colder than the room. Mind you, that's one way to wake you up in the morning. Cleanliness and service were good.

The hotel bar needs a bit more ambiance and I had to instruct one of the bartenders how to make a Dark and Stormy. Perhaps it's me, but they do not have much in the way of single malt whiskies - and one must have a nightcap, yes?

Breakfast was less than stunning. Had to send the coffee back but if you want a rib-sticking porridge, the serving is huge and I didn't have to eat for the rest of the day.

Will I stay there again? Yes, because all in all, I can get breakfast in any number of the hundreds of places nearby.

Room Tip: Try not to get 401 - it is right next to a service door that seemed to be used most of the night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jethrosdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Jethrosdad,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit. We are delighted that our central location in the city provided you a convenient base whist affording a "home away from home" experience.

We appreciate your comments regarding the quality of our breakfast coffee and the ambiance in our Off the Wall Bar and are disappointed that both of these areas fell below your expectations on this occasion. Please be assured that we have discussed your comments with the team and have implemented further measures to ensure that we are able to enhance the 'feel' of the Bar, and improve the quality of our coffee product during the breakfast period.

The team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your future business trips to the city.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

I chose this hotel as it had good reviews and it was close to Liverpool Street Station where I would be arriving late at night to spend a two night weekend break. The hotel staff are very pleasant and the room was nice if a little on the small side but with all your needs catered for, my only gripe being the grout between the tiles on the floor of the shower cubicle had been washed away and since this is a newish hotel I was surprised although it wasn't worth complaining about. This hotel is in a great location if you have business in that area but at the weekend the streets are dead and none of the cafes and shops are open and it really feels eerie at night time, we were there in November and the hotel was very quiet. Another point you should be aware of is the close proximity of the hotel to the offices on the other side of the street at the time we were there these were being refurbished but I can imagine this being a little uncomfortable when they are finally occupied. All in all this is a nice hotel and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lady_grey1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Lady_grey1997,

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your recent visit to London. As you correctly pointed our location in the city does mean that the area is particularly quiet on weekends. We find that many of our customers enjoy this aspect as it affords a "best rest" solution with minimal traffic and pedestrian disturbance, whilst still having the connectivity to the "hustle and bustle" on their doorstep. As you alluded to the underground and mainline stations of Moorgate, Liverpool Street and Bank are all within a few minutes’ walk meaning the West End is only an 8 minute tube ride away.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on the grout in your bathroom. This has unfortunately been the result of tray movement in the shower cubicles since our opening three years ago. I am pleased to say that over the next two months this situation will be fully rectified as we work with an external partner on addressing this area and arranging a complete shower re grout across the full hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night and have no criticisms. The staff were friendly, professional and efficient; the room was of a high standard in terms of comfort, cleanliness and facilities and the choice and quality of breakfast outstanding.

Would certainly return.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank youngmotherhubbard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimonDavisJunior, General Manager at Apex London Wall Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Youngmotherhubbard,

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We were pleased that you enjoyed a wonderful experience and felt that our quality of product was to a high standard, which was equally matched by the genuine friendly manner of service, that each of our team endeavour to deliver on a daily basis.

Thank you once again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Simon Davis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#48 of 1,071 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 2,738 reviews
City of London
South Place Hotel
South Place Hotel
#23 of 1,071 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 782 reviews
City of London
Apex City of London Hotel
Apex City of London Hotel
#83 of 1,071 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 3,068 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
City of London
The Montcalm at the Brewery London City
City of London
Hotel Indigo London Tower Hill
Westminster
The Nadler Victoria
The Nadler Victoria
#21 of 1,071 in London
5.0 of 5 stars 364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Apex London Wall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apex London Wall Hotel

Property: Apex London Wall Hotel
Address: 7-9 Copthall Avenue, London EC2R 7NJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Romantic Hotel in London
#43 Luxury Hotel in London
#55 Business Hotel in London
#119 Family Hotel in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Apex London Wall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the City, this four star deluxe hotel has 89 spacious en-suite rooms with a choice of city, superior, deluxe and suites. The rooms include 40" LED TV, Bose SoundDock MP3 dock, fridge, safe, spacious walk-in power shower, large desk, ground coffee and selected teas, luxury toiletries, iron and ironing board, free Wi-Fi and local calls. Other facilities include Off the Wall Lounge Bar and Restaurant, and Gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Apex London Wall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Apex London Wall Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing