We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, poor stay” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Dylan Apartments Kensington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Dylan Apartments Kensington
Ranked #440 of 555 London B&B and Inns
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good location, poor stay”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed in a double room for a week. I must say, location is very good, in the vibrant earl's court, but it is simply an accomodation you would not stay for more than 3 days.
Cleanliness almost fictional. Room extremely small. Elevator not present (we were on the top floor and we had to do 4 floors of steep steps everytime).
Price is reasonable, for the area is cheap, but for the room I believe is overpriced.
We might spend £100 more next time but in a better place.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SMCS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    21
    27
    27
    83
See reviews for
14
75
10
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my friend for 2 nights at the end of September, to be fair, our room could have been MUCH worse, according to some other reviews the room we had (317) was actually a renovated room, other people were not so fortunate by the sound of it.

On the plus side, the apartments are very close to Earl's court tube station, Earl's Court Road also has a flurry of restaurants, a couple of pubs and shops etc. Once inside the apartments we were met by a receptionist who, quite frankly, didn't seem too bothered about us, being friendly northern girls, we were excited about our trip to the capital and felt slightly let down by our greeting. The receptionist took a long time to find our booking which didn't fill us with confidence either, we were also asked for ID which was never mentioned anywhere on the website. We were given a key card for room 317, once I started walking upstairs I noticed the stains on the carpet, the very narrow staircase and the rather funny 'musty' smell in the air. It reminded me of cheap student housing. We walked right to the top of the building and could not find our room number! No 317 anywhere! Maybe it was our ignorance but the 3 must have stood for third floor or something. We dared to try our key on room 17 in the corner... it worked.

Our room was very small and very basic but clean as far as I could tell, there was a large flat screen on the wall, 2 single beds and minimal furniture. (folded chairs and table). The bathroom was teeny tiny, very narrow and tight although there was a new electric shower installed so that was a treat I suppose.

Overall our stay was okay, if all you want is somewhere to rest your head for a cheap price then this is for you. Based on other reviews I wouldn't stay here again. If you're wanting to stay in London it's worth paying that extra £10 or £20 to make sure you get somewhere decent.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtyGeri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Room was very, very small but clean. Every day was there fresh towels. Room has a small kitchen. This hotel is a typical English building. 24hour reception desk. flat LCD DVD TV :)
100m away is big Tesco food shop open 24h. Good location, 150m from underground station and bus stop.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated quiet room with flat screen.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank uros13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights on a trip to London for my birthday, to say it wasn't what we were expecting is an understatement!
We'd booked online and looked through the photos and this place was certainly nothing like they would have you believe.
The hallway walls and carpets were filthy, the bed was so slanted we had trouble not rolling out mid sleep and the room was uncomfortably warm due to a sash window that had no means of keeping it ajar.
One evening, after being out on our feet for 12 hours, we realised our kettle was not working. We told the man on reception only to be told we'd have to wait till the morning. After a brain wave from myself, we tried the kettle in a different plug socket and found it to work. I must mention this socket was on the floor under a table. On telling the receptionist that it was the plug, so we could not use the toaster or microwave either, his response was for us to move everything to the socket on the floor!! Not really why we paid for a self catering apartment!
The bathroom stank of mould and bad eggs clearly from an awful water supply. The shower was a trickle of water that was either boiling hot or freezing cold, I couldn't even manage to wash the shampoo from my hair!
Luckily none of this dampened our spirits and we had an amazing holiday but we definately WILL NOT be staying here again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AbFab225176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

For my upcoming 21st birthday I was given two nights in London and theatre tickets from my Gran as it has been something I've dreamed of doing for as long as I can remember. We booked everything in August and in October (why, I don't know) I read the reviews for DKA on here and for want of a better word was terrified of what we (my aunt and myself) would encounter and it left me with a feeling it would deflate the trip slightly.

Having been for said trip just this weekend I am pleased to say we struck lucky and were given a refurbished room: clean comfy beds, relatively spacious room and appliances that worked etc, no horrid smell and no rats (the part I was most terrified of) the room we were given put my fears to rest and the whole trip was out of this world fantastic!!

However, unless I could be guaranteed a refurbished room, I wouldn't stay there again. Not after the horror reviews I've read.

Location is ideal! We were so close to the Underground.

Room Tip: Room 311 *If I remember* It's the set of apts on the side across (diagonally) the road from Te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandResident
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

I booked for 3 night in this hotel, because I have been deceived from the nice images put on the website. But the actual experience is COMPLETELY DIFFERENT. The room was extremely dirty, the furniture was very old and provided the room a very shabby appearance. The bathroom was almost unusable and the air aspirator was not working. Obviously, there were no windows for the air turn over. The reception was completely indifferent to all my complaints. In summary, I have been more than 10 times in London and I never saw so terrible conditions. And if I say "terrible" I think that for this accommodation is a compliment. I recommend everyone to avoid this hotel, because you can find in London far better conditions at the same price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonioottaviano75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is the worst experience in my life. I booked and pre-paid for 3 nights, on getting to the apartment it was trouble all the way. From the rude receptionist to my room in the basement. The room was a joke. Once i opened the door, rats were on the run through the open window, everywhere was infested with rats and foul smell, the heater was not working, the bathrooms had leaks. The problems were never ending. I went back and asked for a refund since i cant stay in this kind of condition but the rude receptionist with a thick English ascent refused. I just had to forfeit my money and look for a more descent place to stay. Just avoid this place for your own good.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Kensington and Hyde Park
Premier Inn London Kensington (Olympia) Hotel
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington Court Hotel
Kensington Court Hotel
#707 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 369 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#752 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#730 of 1,072 in London
3.0 of 5 stars 564 reviews
South Kensington
Ashburn Court Apartments
Ashburn Court Apartments
#614 of 1,072 in London
4.5 of 5 stars 27 reviews
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
BEST WESTERN The Cromwell
#536 of 1,072 in London
3.5 of 5 stars 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dylan Apartments Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dylan Apartments Kensington

Property: Dylan Apartments Kensington
Address: 60/109 Warwick Road, London SW5 9EJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Kensington and Hyde Park
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #440 of 555 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dylan Apartments Kensington 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apartments features include private ensuite facilities with showers, televisions and fully equipped kitchenettes with a full range of utensils. Dylan Apartments Kensington is only a few steps away from Earl's Court Tube Station and "Exhibition Centre". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Fastbooking and Agoda so you can book your Dylan Apartments Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dylan Kensington Hotel London
Dylan Apartments Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing