We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe the best restaurant in London”
Review of Tamada

Tamada
Ranked #4,180 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Maybe the best restaurant in London”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

First things first - this is a great restaurant. Extremely high quality food, great service, fantastic atmosphere. Find yourself surrounded by Russian speakers eating delicious aubergine stuffed with walnuts and herbs; try the tradition walnut sauce or eat the giant dumplings the traditional way with your hands. The Khachapuri (wonderful stone-cooked flat bread stuffed with cheese) is very addictive, the plum sauce (with beautiful sizzling pork) is tangy and delicious. Don't forget to try the walnut cake - you will not regret it! The staff are lovely too - passionate about Georgian food, keen to make recommendations and very attentive.

Really importantly, if you don't know about Georgian food, you are in for a real treat the first time you try it. Georgia is a country found at the cross-roads of the world, between Iran to the South, Russia to the North and Turkey to the west. As such it has the most extraordinary influences from all of them... it really has to be tried to be understood.

Visit Tamada, it may just become your favourite restaurant too!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    68
    33
    5
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
faversham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“the best advert for georgia and georgians”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

This is quite simply my favourite restaurant in London - the food, the drink, the service, the atmosphere, everything. I live over fifty miles away but it's worth my coming up to London specially for the total Georgian experience, which is crowned by the presence of the lovely Tamara. I have recommended the place to all my British, American and Italian friends, and all concur that it was for them too an unforgettable experience.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeFaversham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“What a find! Exceptional”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

8 friends went for lunch.... so happy! Walnut cake to die for and the food and service was phenominal. Almost don't want to tell others about this great new find!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rufoeke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent Customer service excellent food”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We came upon this restaurant whilst walking about from the local Marriott hotel. Although literally about to close, we were welcomed in and made to feel that nothing was too much trouble and no matter what we wanted, we would be catered to. I have seldom experienced such genuine warmth and true customer service in a restaurant, and the food was excellent as well. It's just a shame I don't live locally, as I would have absolutely no hesitation using this restaurant on a regular basis. Fabulous.

Helpful?
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Outstanding Georgian Cuisine and Hospitality!”
Reviewed December 29, 2012

After reading very nice reviews about Tamada, family of seven visited the restaurant for lunch. Food was outstanding, we ordered several starters and main dishes to share. Every dish was delicious and tasted authentic Georgian. We tried two different red wines Saperavi Special reserve and Satrapezo, they are not cheap but really worth it. I had a chance to talk to patron of the restaurant, Tamara, who is beautiful and genuine lady. The whole experience: food, wine, atmosphere, attention, service, cleanliness was wonderful. Next time we come to London Tamada will be on the list!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sopio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamada also viewed

 

Been to Tamada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing