We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A must for a food sensation!!!!”
Review of Meraz Cafe

Meraz Cafe
Ranked #1,810 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $24
Cuisines: Indian, Pakistani, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: The Meraz philosophy has not changed since 1974, it remains one of respect for cooking tradition, from which is born a consistency and an aversion to fads that is greatly appreciated by all. A respect for the patron's palate and comfort, innovating and striving to bring the best in service, atmosphere and presentation, and a passion for introducing Handi Cooked Foods to an ever growing audience.Unusual for Brick Lane, Meraz encourages BYOB.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must for a food sensation!!!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2012

Due to us spending a weekend in London my partner wanted an authentic curry in the Brick Lane area. After looking at many bad reviews he found the Meraz cafe. Even though it was a BYO, bring your own booze, I was put off by the title 'cafe' however I shouldn't have been: this place is a right squeeze as was so full but the food is amazing! The service is great and the value for food out of this world. He had the lamb shank and I had the chicken achee or something similar sounding: both dishes were out of this world! Meraz: it's a must!!! Would go back no hesitation! Don't forget your booze!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melanie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    47
    8
    4
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best curry in the area - by a mile!”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Meraz is down to eat, exceptionally good, simple Bangladeshi cuisine, served in a friendly environment and at very affordable prices.

I've been going there for 15 Years. I've tried pretty much everything else in the area and only bother to come to Meraz now. Enough said!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.k.
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great little cafe”
Reviewed November 14, 2012

we got put off by all the hassle from the curry houses in brick lane and got used to saying in the end "thankyou no ,we've just eaten",so we dived down hanbury street, and we found 2 or 3 great little restaurants, of which we would have eaten in any of them, but we chose Meraz Cafe, no licence,so you take your own drink,really helpful and attentive staff and excellent food,then a bill of £21 for the two of us !!!!!!!!! just brilliant ,highly recommended.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicmal5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Simply good food cooked with love”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have been coming to Meraz for over ten years now. Seeing that they have joined Trip Advisor i have to say something. The food is consistently good; my fave includes chicken roll for when I'm on the go, the Friday special Chicken Biriyani is a must, Chicken Jalfrezi and Saag Chana which btw is not on the menu. If your visiting Brick Lane and want wholesome food, this is the place to go Meraz Cafe aka food heaven.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Tahoe (California), California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Good food, great price, and BYOB!”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

You can't find a better deal on or around Brick Lane in London.

From their Aloo Shami to their Sag Gosht, the meal was delicious and spicy. This has been our favorite meal (and least expensive) in London so far.

Do yourself a favor, buy some beer or wine, and walk a block off the touristy Brick Lane for a true Indian treat.

Enjoy your visit and please let me know if you thought this review was 'helpful.'

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meraz Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Meraz Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing