We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great impression until we got locked in”
Review of 73 Studios

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
73 Studios
Ranked #381 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Reviewed August 3, 2012

we booked room 101 on our way down to London. The pictures impressed us and it seemed to be a good price (£69.99) for a serviced apartment. First impressions were how odd it was that there were no signs outside. We arrived at 10 in the evening and reading the notice on the front door it said there is a receptionist about until 12. We had no answer and resorted to ringing the number provided. Being told to go and collect our key from the next road we trawled on. Now keep in mind we had been travelling for a good 4 hours, we were hungry and the trip was completely spontaneous therefore, we were keen to go to a local shop and pick up some essentials. Once we picked up our key we went back to the hotel. Walking through the door was a pleasing surprise. Our room was luckily on the first floor. It was spacious and airy. we had a great nights sleep and woke up in the morning and prepared for the day. However, as soon as we tried to leave the lock on our bedroom door was broken leaving us trapped inside. We rang up the hotel and they tried to free us for about 45 minutes. With no success they told us they were going to ring an engineer which would take around another three quarters of an hour to arrive. when they eventually free'd us we were hardly apologized to. It was a huge shame as we really enjoyed the hotel and even wanted to stay another night.

Room Tip: look at late deals for the apartment on the first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (79)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 79 reviews

Reviewed July 14, 2012

First of all, a little comment on the post before this one. I happened to stay on the fourth floor. But my room was clean and nice. The room looks like just got renewed, so everything is nice actually. But i agree with the height without the lift. It is a big pain to lift your huge luggage that far. And keep in mind, fourth floor in uk actually means fifth floor. Yes, there is no telephone in the room.

Staff's attitude really needs to be improved. They speak english fast and with strong accent. The most strange part is they don't like you ask questions. They talked five minutes, gave you the key, and then like thats it. You don't need to ask more questions, thy have covered all. That is really bad.

The most funny happened in my staying was the fire alarm went off at midnight. So everyone ran out og the building and stayed outside. Cuz the hotel staff don't have a night shift, so we guests did not know what to do in that situation. There is an emergency number they said we could call. Some guests called, none answed. We stayed outside after midnight with the alrm beeping, it was raining and cold. After 30 min, we really could not stand, we called the London Fire department, they sent fireman over to fix that alarm, sorta. When we went back to rooms, it was over 1am.

Funny part was next day we asked the lady if she fixed alarm issue. She shut us down and said "don't tell me about it". She said alot guests the net went down to complain. She commented: this is not my property, i have nothing to do with that, which sounds very bizza for us to understand her custom handling skills.

Like others said, this place shares one night shift with their other hotels, so none stays there at night. And emergent thing happens like we experienced, you don't kow whom you cld ask.

And yes, no sign outside. You will wonder a while before you start go up and knock the door to try your luck.

Stayed: July 2012
Thank Keoeyvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

Had the worst experance of my life at this hotel..or should i say hostel,first of had to go to another hotel to collect the key as there was no one at reception for late travellers.there was a sign on the door telling you were to go to pick up the key,so with heavy luggage and a child had to jump in another taxi toanother hotel..apart hotel 43 and collect key,got in and there was an awful smell,climbed narrow stairs as no lift,room was tiny not suitable for 2 people,wardrobe was very narrow had 6 hangers in it and there was no drawers,iron board was ripped,carpet was badly stained couldnt take shoes of,2 very thin worn pillows,bed wasnt madeproperly so i went to make the bed and there was a box of ciggarets and take away leafets under the mattress,the mattress had no protector on it and was covered in stains and large blood stain,the "shower room" was a plastic box in the already cramped room if your a size 12 you wont fit in this shower room,hairdryer worked for 30 seconds,the tea tray was something from the 70s the saucer for which the cup sat on was chipped,i had complained when i arrived and was told nothing could be done till 8 oclock, we arrived at half 1 am,so after not sleeping i didnt even unpack i went and complained at reception showed the lady "who was very nice and genuinely sorry" at reception the photos of the room which she down loaded on to her pc to show her boss and i booked another hotel and left in total disgust that they could allow people to pay up to £400 for a 3 night stay in a dirty flithy room with blood stained mattress and not care.only good thing about this hotel was the location but there is lots of other hotels in the area.will upload photos as soon as i can.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaype-72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights. Room is ok, small and a bit claustrophobic in the basement. Everything works from TV, shower etc. Clean. Staffs are friendly. Great location for Bayswater tube station. For the price they charged I think it is reasonable.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lokoste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

i was at first put off by the fact that i was given a basement room.it was however very clean and airy as it lead to the back garden that is beautifully arranged.still, there was no kitchennette so i asked the receptionist about it.i was told i had booked a simple single room,BUT as she did have a studio available she moved me there,no charge-as she felt i obviously booked the simple one by mistake!
studio 301 is big with 2 windows with a view
great bed
wi fi is fast and free
tv is flatscreen , all freeview working fine
kitchennete has microwave,small fridge,one hob, pans-potsetc
bathroom with powershower, hairdrier
impressed by cleaner Irina that is there all day cleaning and helping
impressed by receptionist Diana that is very polite and helpful and cheerfull-not just because i got a free upgrade.
do not book if you have mobility problems as there is no lift
very close to Bayswater Underground-cross the street, walk through Inverness place, turn left, walk 1 minute-30m and you are there.
Thank you ladies!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopysas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

Hi
I have just stayed here for 2 nights. There was a group of 6 so we had 3 rooms. Fortunately we had a room on the 1st floor. It is a bit of a climb to the top floor. But i'd say the rooms were very clean and shower/toilet facilities very good.
If you want you can cook as well.
We booked last minute - would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: First or second floor would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The location is good but it quite hard for people who do not know that the hotel does not have any signs to tell them that this is a hotel. Room is good and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Notting Hill
London House Hotel
London House Hotel
#317 of 1,075 in London
2,323 reviews
Notting Hill
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
MStay Hyde Park Hotel
#450 of 1,075 in London
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Notting Hill
Space Apart Hotel
Space Apart Hotel
#433 of 1,075 in London
448 reviews
Notting Hill
La Suite West - Hyde Park
La Suite West - Hyde Park
#457 of 1,075 in London
729 reviews
Notting Hill
Grand Royale London Hyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 73 Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 73 Studios

Address: 73 Inverness Terrace, London W2 3JT, England (Formerly Apart Hotel 73)
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Notting Hill
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 908 Specialty Lodging in London
Hotel Class:3 star — 73 Studios 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms and TripOnline SA so you can book your 73 Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
73 Studios London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing