We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“London wow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Presidential Apartments Kensington
Ranked #81 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
East Grand Forks, Minnesota
2 reviews
“London wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2010

The rooms were large with just about everything we could have wanted. Nice to have a full kitchen in the room for those late night snacks or slow mornings. Just a few blocks from Earl's Court station and real easy to get to. Couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brucekeif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    221
    89
    35
    33
See reviews for
278
86
20
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2010

We stayed in the one bedroom basement apartment with two children aged 6 & 9. The apartments are in a great location, just a two minute walk from Earl's Court tube and a busy high street. The reception staff weren't particularly friendly or welcoming after a long haul flight from Australia and the basement apartment is stairs only. The apartment itself was neat and clean but quite small. The children slept on the sofa bed which was broken and very uncomfortable, but it was repaired the following morning as requested. It would be a great place to stay as a couple, if you are a family i would recommend a more expensive two bed apartment. Overall I would give this accommodation a 7/10.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank natclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2010

London hotels can be a dump, and it was a real challenge for us to find nice accomodations for a family of 4. Fortunately the Presidential Kensington comes pretty close. The apartment we rented was very upscale and well done, and comparable in price to other apartments for rent.

We rented an executive 1 bedroom thinking it would be big enough. The king bed was perfect but the sofa bed can really only fit one person. We had to request another single mattress which was brought up. The bathroom was very nice with a great shower. However the sink was very small and the toilet was positioned in an odd way making it difficult to use.

Amenities - some of the nicest in room amenties on our trip. Our room had 2 large Samsung LCD TV's with many channels, one in the living room and the other in the bedroom. The kitchen had an oven, microwave, washing machine, dishwasher and fridge. There were plenty of electric outlets to recharge our gadgets.

WiFi internet was free and had an excellent connection but make sure you ask for additional access codes if you have more than one device like a laptop and an iTouch, otherwise you will constantly be knocking the other person offline!

Location - superb location only 3 minutes walk or so from Earl's Court tube station. Plenty of supermarkets and restaurants nearby to refuel when you are not sightseeing. Barkston Gardens is right across the street if you want a nice place to sit outside and relax. The Presidential Kensington is located down a side street, so its very quiet at night.

Reception - friendly and helpful. Gave us good tips where to shop and arranged a taxi for us to the airport in the early AM.

My only complaint was the lack of a "do not disturb" sign for the door. It didnt seem like a big deal until housekeeping walked in one day and then one evening a member of the staff entered our room by accident despite a locked door. Was really unhappy with that one.

In summary, a nice stay if you want upscale accomodations in an apartment setting and in a good location. With 4 people it was a bit cramped so you might need to go bigger if you want a real bed for the 4th person. Despite some minor inconviences I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Auggie721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

A mix of great location, staff and style made the whole experience superb. A few minutes walk from Earls Court station we had great access to the rest of the city and a great time showing the kids where I grew up. If it was too late to go to town then locally the main street is packed with restaurants and shops meaning we had everything right at our fingertips and minimal organisation was required to have a nice night.

Having the tube close by is great but pretty useless unless you have somewhere to go. I am bad at planning and usually I'd just hop on the train and go anywhere but with the kids you need a bit more of a strategy. Thankfully the staff seemed very experienced with helping my type and pointed out numerous attractions that were literally round the corner, (museums, harrods etc) and some that were further afield.

We took one of the larger rooms and had a seperate kitchen and dining area and it was very much like renting our own apartment for a week. Nicely finished and obviously brand new.

this combination put as at ease for our entire trip and made an experience that can often be a bit stressful nothing but pleasurable.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JourneyReviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2010

I found this accommodation on Google while planning a surprise honeymoon trip for myself and my wife.
I planned on staying in the hotel for 5 nights while exploring London, however we had such an amazing experience that we decided to delay our return and stayed in the hotel for an additional 6 nights.
When we arrived we were greeted but a pleasant and helpful staff, quick check-in procedure, and a porter to help us to our room and carry our luggage. The interior was modern, the size was luxurious and in fact, it is identical to the pictures we saw which are a rare thing in some hotels.
Our flat had such a good kitchen which allowed us to stay in and cook as if we were at our own home and the bed was big and comfortable.
When we needed good advice about when to dine out the staff were knowledgeable and we even got discounts just because we stayed at presidential.
It is definitely a place we would come again and we recommended it to our friends and family

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kroth02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2010

Stayed in an executive studio, which is up stairs. Room was light and airy. Very comfortable, nice big space. Have read that some of the cheaper rooms are down stairs and so maybe not so light. Kitchen well equipped, nice bathroom. Would defiantly stay there again. Expensive, but by London standards is probably good value.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CoffeeCanberra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2010

We recently stayed here for a night,the apartment it self was nice and well decorated but we were not impressed by the staff, when you pay over £200 p/n you expect a certain level of service.
The staff here lacked manners and were not the slightest bit friendly,
on checking in we did not even get a hello,I was told to sign there and there and was then handed my key.
I travel to London quiet a bit and I will not return here for this reason alone.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mondo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Collingham Serviced Apartments
South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
Citadines South Kensington
#174 of 1,088 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
South Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
The Nadler Kensington
#61 of 1,088 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
BEST WESTERN Burns Hotel Kensington
South Kensington
Hotel Indigo London Kensington
Marylebone
Presidential  Apartments
Presidential Apartments
#92 of 837 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Presidential Apartments Kensington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Presidential Apartments Kensington

Property: Presidential Apartments Kensington
Address: 6-12 Barkston Gardens | Kensington, London SW5 0EN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington , Earls Court
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #81 of 837 Specialty Lodging in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Presidential Apartments Kensington 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Presidential Apartments Kensington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Presidential Apartments Hotel London
Presidential Apartments Kensington London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing