We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reliably good”

Le Relais De Venise - Marylebone
Ranked #1,214 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: $0 - $38
Cuisines: French, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner
Neighborhood: Marylebone
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Reliably good”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Get there early to avoid the queues and have an excellent lunch of steak frites. The steak is always excellent and baguette warm and fresh. Chips are addictive and ruined my diet. Decent reds at affordable price makes this an all round good value visit

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RVC_SBR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

778 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    342
    273
    91
    35
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Ness Ziona, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food rude service”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

The food is really good. Great salad, tasty steak and fries. The problem is the time you have to wait I order to get in (no reservations) and the very unfriendly service inside. It is a bit expensive for what you get but overall it was a nice dinner.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank tomersp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Different : no menu no reservations but good steak frites”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Been here many times and I use it as a backstop restaurant when i cant be bothered venturing too far out as I tend to use the Marylebone hotel which is next door
The problem is the long wait to get in but the concept of the restaurant is in principal a good one. Great steak cooked well and quickly.
Negative is that they want you in and out and if you attempt to linger they are you feel a bit uncomfortable
Bit surly but capital city restaurants are supposed to be rude aren't they?!( except the Wolesley )

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Babysnakes44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petersfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paris in central London”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

So everyone has heard about this place.. Green salad and two servings of steak frites, but would i queue outside for 30+mins? NO. I couldn't believe the number of people outside when we left waiting for a table.

So the food is average, but what i love about it is the ambience. Its just like a Parisian bistro, Grumpy waiters/waitress with waaay to many chips on their shoulders and overhearing the gossip of the diners sat at the next table 15cm away.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LJ_Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent steak and great secret sauce”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I was advised (told) to go here by my boss and it didn't disappoint. Fast service if a little cramped.

The medium steak was perfect and I was glad I didn't go for rare as I think I may have made a moo noise!

I will be going again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JC19EB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Relais De Venise - Marylebone also viewed

 

Been to Le Relais De Venise - Marylebone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing