We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small and grubby” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #436 of 567 London B&B and Inns
Portadown
1 review
“Small and grubby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

Room was small, bed was tiny, scuff marks on the walls not like the pictures on the Internet. The shared shower was out of order.

Good location and a cheap price. We arrived early and they let us put our bags in the room

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    12
    36
    27
    88
See reviews for
23
53
20
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This B & B is fairly awful.

The location is decent (20 mins from covent garden). This, and the friendly owner are the good things I can say about the Goodwood.

The room we had was in the basement and was foosty and unclean. The ensuite was tiny, and very difficult to move around in. I have booked budget hotels before, but none as awful as these.

Don't stay in this place!!





  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Obedientdog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

Arrived at this hotel at pre arranged check in time to find the room wasn't ready & despite booking an en suite we had not been allocated one. The owner offered us a discount if we took a room without en suite as he had none available, and showed us his copy of the booking from budgetplaces.com to prove that it was their error not his. The first room we looked at was basically a cupboard with a double bed squashed into it, and was filthy. The second had a shower and was slightly bigger but still just as dirty and unappealing. The floor in the second room was on a slant and was covered with the oldest dirtiest carpet you can imagine, which wasn't even tacked down properly so had big ruches in the middle.
The photos this hotel posted online don't look like they were even taken in this hotel. We refused to stay and found another hotel instead. This hotel needs redecoration, a thorough clean and updating.
The only positive was the helpfulness of the owner who tried to help us find another hotel.

Room Tip: Book into another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Regrettably booked this 'hotel' last minute and didn't read the reviews before booking. Unfortunately, I wish I had of read them. We got there at the desired check in time that was specified when we booked the room and the room was not ready, to which we were not impressed as there was no where to hold our bags and we had to meet a friend. After reading the reviews, we asked to look at the room before we paid. Thankfully we did because the entire floor smelt like urine and was filthy. Understandably, the room was not ready but it still did not depict the photographs on their site.
We demanded a cancellation and were told we were not allowed to cancel without a cancellation fee, however we were allowed to cancel the second night free of charge.

Thankfully they moved us to a different room where a different bathroom as accessible but it still didn't stop us from using our own pillowcases/towels and sleeping fully clothed as we felt it were safer as we didn't trust how clean it was.

I would never even step foot in this establishment again. Please, take caution.

Room Tip: Don't.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaela_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

First off, DO NOT TRUST the pictures they've put on their website and on "booking.com". They're far from reality, the ones posted by the other reviewers here are what you'll get. Except if they demolish the hotel (which I would highly recommend) and build a new one...

The room was in the basement (yes, basement, you've not misread) and the staircase leading to it was kind of scary. I thought they were taking us to jail.
The room itself was dirty, old and too small for three guys. The mattress was missing I guess, as we were literally sleeping on the "wood", hence the name of the hotel I reckon.
The TV was there for decoration only, there was no way to turn it on (no button)...
We've not seen rats, but they were probably sleeping in our room the days before our stay.

Last but not least, it was way too pricey for what we got.

-> AVOID this hotel at all costs, except if you want to make a horror movie!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pascal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I had booked this hotel for a friends Hen-Do, choosing this hotel mainly because of its location and the fact all 4 of us could stay in the same room. Unfortunately, this hotel was a huge disappointment. Our Check-In time was from 12 onwards - we didnt arrive until after 3 and our room wasnt even ready as the previous guests flight was delayed and had only just vacated - thank god we didnt turn up at 12 or we would have been in a really annoying situation. The hotel its self is very run down, with mattresses and blankets and rubbish everywhere - not a good first impression.
We were put in to a room which was separate to the hotel, the size of the room was good, however it was all very tired, we could only open 2 windows so at 7am we all woke up incredibly hot and bothered!
On leaving the hotel i checked under my bed to see if there was anything i had forgotten and saw mold all over the walls - not impressed. There was a large TV which i was quite impressed with...that is until we tried to turn it on to listen to some music and it didnt even work - why bother having a TV!?

All in all i would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zaventem
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good: staff was friendly and helpful. Nice location, bed was OK and sheets were clean. I received a large towel.

Bad: everything was broken, cupboards, tv, and toilet! The seat of it was broken and flushing did not work. I didn't use the bathroom, too dirty. Cracks on all walls.

I didn't spend much time in my room, it was to awful.

I would never stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoxLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Avonmore Hotel
Avonmore Hotel
#885 of 1,089 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#264 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#48 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Excelsior Hotel London
Excelsior Hotel London
#381 of 567 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 422 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#71 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 795 reviews
Bloomsbury
Judd Hotel
Judd Hotel
#230 of 567 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Hotel

Property: Goodwood Hotel
Address: 38-40 Tavistock Place, London WC1H 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #436 of 567 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Goodwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing