We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really cold and dirty”
Review of Goodwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Goodwood Hotel
Ranked #449 of 571 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 days, but will never go there again. Cold and dirty. My son had a room of his own and we had a room with two beds...none of us could keep us warm during the night, as the heaters did not work, and the windows could not close

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (205)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 205 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2013

the place was disgusting, didn't think places like that existed still! the sheets had stains the bathroom was barely in working order and disgusting, a complete hovel, stayed in better hostels! location was fantastic thats the only positive to say about it!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Conners16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Cold and dirty hotel in an OK area of London.
Not expensive and not cheap, but to expensive to what you got.
The receptionist tried to charge us more for the room that we have agreed when we booked the room.
The room was so cooled that we had to ask for extra blankets to keep the warm.
On the entrance door it said that it was bed and breakfast hotel, but it was not possible to get any breakfast and it was good the same, that we couldn,t.
We wouldn't have had it there anyway.
This hotel is not recommendable.

Room Tip: No rooms to pick from, they were all terrible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Our lad at this hotel was a dead good guy. Should rename this hotel "Sanjay's palace of love" nice clean sheets, decent bathroom, felt well at home. Sturdy bed with no squeaks. Nice and quiet without having to worry about our neighbours, nice view. Bangin location. Deffo stay here again. Great price for a mint stay. Cheers!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stannox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

staff friendly very friendly.

rooms basic as described. but comfortable to sleep in

dirty.unclean. disgusting in fact. there was femented sick inside our kettle. I opened it to put water in and was physically sick.

location is 15min walk from covent Garden

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jodiedeal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

Not going into it to far but room horrid..sink hanging off wall holes in wall no heating tv not working carpets filthy...hallway total mess shower light had a womens used pad on it for three days...on my last day some one had wiped there backside allover the seat and walls.so i reported it to the chap in the so called office and was told its not his job its the cleaners...as i laughed out loud....what cleaner i said...response was..they try there best...this is a hovel and if not for a hotel each side would fall down for sure...please stsy away..you can pay £10more a night next door for a good standard room...nuff said.

2  Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 14, 2012

This hotel was the worst hotel me and my boyfriend have ever stayed in, our room was dirty, the coffee/tea area had not been changed, most of the packets were open and we had one teabag in a double room. The toilet nearest our room didnt flush, and the light above our mirror in our room made a buzzing noise all night. The heating was on so high all night so our room was very hot. When we arrived with lots of luggage (40mins after the time we were aloud to arrive) we were told to come back in 1-2 hours and had to leave our luggage in the lobby. The only good thing about our stay was that it was near all the places we wanted to visit in that weekend. There's a good reason they ask you to pay on arrival because nobody would pay after an hour, let alone a night in this terrible hotel.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mary s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#287 of 1,077 in London
1,773 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#303 of 571 in London
211 reviews
Bloomsbury
St. Athans Hotel
St. Athans Hotel
#35 of 571 in London
625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
The George Hotel
The George Hotel
#72 of 571 in London
712 reviews
Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Hostel Strand Continental
Hostel Strand Continental
#347 of 571 in London
288 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#75 of 571 in London
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goodwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goodwood Hotel

Address: 38-40 Tavistock Place, London WC1H 9RE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #449 of 571 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $52 - $173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Goodwood Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Goodwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Goodwood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing