We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Tour!”

Cycle Tours of London
Ranked #22 of 185 Outdoor Activities in London
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cycle Tours of London offer guided sightseeing tours by bicycle every day of the year. We are a family run business and take pride in showing London at its best, including famous landmarks and hard to find wonders. Our tours avoid all busy, polluted roads taking advantage of our guides' knowledge of river paths, cycle lanes, alleys and park routes. If you don't have a great time on our tours there will be no charge!!!
San Sebastian - Donostia, Spain
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Tour!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We had a great, great time on this tour. It was probably my favorite part of my stay in London. Matthew was very knowledgeable and took us both to the well known and lesser well known places around London City Center. The tour was easy to do--very flat--the bikes were comfy, and he has mapped out a route that keeps you off of London's busy streets--no small feat, considering the congestion in the city. Matthew was a great guide--very hospitable, stopping to answer all questions, and really relaxed about timing. We asked so many questions we were running late, but he happily stayed out an extra 45 minutes with us. I felt very safe and it was such a great way to see London--you cover so much more ground on a bike. We also really enjoyed having an insider's guide to the city and we had lots of interesting side discussions about politics, agriculture, development etc. I wish every city had a tour like this--and if I go back to London I would definitely do his other tours. We did the city cnter tour, many sites of which we had already seen, but Matthew added a lot of tidbits we didn't know, and showed us so many nooks and crannies of the city I wish we had done it at the beginning of our stay instead of the end. I am an avid cyclist so for me, it was a terrific way to experience London. If you like cycling and you want a really unique way to experience the city, this tour is well worth your money.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tframen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    244
    17
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Entertaining Tour of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

We did The Sights of London Tour on 25th June and were the only participants with Mathew. It was easy to get to the start point and we didn't have to wait around at all. The bikes were fine and helmets were provided. The tour went over to the South bank and then back through Westminster, the West End, Lincoln's Inn and the City. Mathew was an excellent, entertaining, slightly quirky guide who told us lots of interesting stories about London. As well as the major sites, he took us to some quiet streets and back alleys that we would never have found by ourselves. Our 16 year-old son enjoyed it as much as we did. It gave us a different view of London. Highly recommended and next time we are in London we will do one of the other tours.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredS3124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
66 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“What a way to see the Canals of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

We were fortunate enough to be able to join Matthew for a cycle tour of the Canals of London. We were fortunate enough to have brought our bicycles with us from South Africa As the tour was fully booked Matthew allowed us to join as he normally only takes 8 people. Make sure you give yourself time to find Shoe Street! We set off and Matthews knowledge not only of the areas and history of all areas, but he knows each street as he cycles along , it is amazing. We visited markets, went up and down tiny tow paths and in and out tiny alleys that one could never find on a map. The ride was easy for all the people we were with with the tour and during the ride you get to know the other 8 people. Would love to see the one couples photos as they stopped so often and were such fun to see them enjoying all the sights that Matthew showed us. Would highly recommend this to anyone. Well done Matthew

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DarylGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
2 reviews
“A Unique View of London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

After the crowded open top double decker bus tour of London yesterday, we were relieved and pleased to find the bike path less traveled in London. Matthew was our guide and he knew how to avoid the throngs of tourists in London in July. He took us on roads that had little to no car, bus, or pedestrian traffic, yet we still saw all of the major sights including Big Ben, Houses of Parliament, Westminster Abbey, Buckingham Palace, Trafalgar Square, and Covent Garden. A great way to get off your feet and exercise at the same time. I highly recommend the Sights of London Tour!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jean L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An afternoon well spent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

Just back after having had a great time on the Sights of London tour. Mathew is a great guide, very informative. After checking about our interests, he mentioned he was going to take us around some of the lesser known but good places around Thames and I have to say the tour did live up to our expectations, if not exceeded. Tour lasted about 3.5 hours... well paced for a not so regular biker like me. Definitely going on other tours soon...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank staltimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cycle Tours of London also viewed

 

Been to Cycle Tours of London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing