We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (190)
Filter reviews
190 results
Traveler rating
48
53
43
27
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
53
43
27
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews muswell hill alexander palace wood green minute walk breakfast was buffet style bit dated nice shower bus routes single bed budget hotel yogurt tube signal dust
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 190 reviews
Reviewed December 3, 2017

We had the misfortune of staying for one night here a few days ago - we had no choice as had a party in the area so needed to be close. Thank goodness it was only 1 night as would have rather slept in the car.
Where to start - the hotel car park as stated on the website does not exist, it is 3 spaces by the side of the hotel which we were lucky enough to get. Thankfully we had used my daughter's Fiat 500 as anything bigger would have been impossible to park.

Room was on the first floor looking out on to the main road so was extremely noisy. I have never stayed in such a dark room, you could hardly see where to put everything. Even with the one light on it was so dark, gloomy and depressing that we just left everything and went to get a coffee as could not bear to stay in there. It was probably so dark as they dont want you to see too clearly the state of the room as was very dusty and shabby.
The bed was a very small double and the mattress was for the bin - every time my husband moved so did I as the springs had completely gone! The radiator did not work and there was a tiny plug in electric heater which was lovely and hot when you were stood right by it, but move a metre away and the room was stone cold again. The curtains did not close properly so light came in from all around and under the window along with a draught. Bathroom was tiny and there was mould in the corner of the shower.
The walls were paper thin and at 2am our next door neighbours were talking so loudly we could hear every word which woke us up until my husband banged on the wall and told them to shut up. We just got back to sleep when someone knocked on our door and when we answered through the door he said sorry, wrong room!
Breakfast consisted of croissants made of sawdust and toast so thin it must have been rolled out by a rolling pin. They obviously use the cheapest ingredients possible and it showed.
We paid £112 for this room. If we had paid £60/70 then that is what it was worth as you pay for what you get. Therefore for the price we paid we expected more and certainly did not get it.
I think it wins the award for worst hotel we have ever stayed in!!

Room Tip: Dont choose this hotel
  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJO1409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2017 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for a gig at Ally Pally (as do most) and it was faultless! Huge room for the two of us very clean too. Good value for money. Hotel is a 15 minute walk away from Ally Pally. 25 min walk from Alexander Palace train station. Wood Green being the closest underground station however it’s better to catch a bus or taxi from this station to the hotel.

Would definitely recommend

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank jadewalker26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2017 via mobile

Nice quiet, clean room. Polite and friendly staff. Breakfast was buffet style help yourself which had enough variety to satisfy us.

Rooms on the small size but the bathroom was beautifully renovated. Also toiletries in the room were of a good standard. Beds comfy. Some people have mentioned the road noise but we didn’t hear anything on the ground floor.

Stayed: November 2017
1  Thank Sam E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Located in Muswell Hill, this hotel was less than 10 minutes from this weeks place of work.

Easy to find with plenty of FREE street parking. Very rare in London but certainly a plus point.

Check in was fine. The chap on the desk did not have English as a first language but got me checked in.

The room was easy to find. It was a 'Superior' single room. If this is superior I would hate to see what a standard room was like.

It was very small and very tight. It was a struggle maneuvering around the bed. There was a fridge in the room which was useful to keep drinks cold.

The sleep quality was ok. Not the quietest as a lot of restaurants back onto the street I was looking out to. The window catch was broken so it was hard to get the window closed to block out the sound.

Breakfast was ok. More of a self-service affair but good all the same.

Internet was fine as was the bathroom. I did find it strange that there was no plug socket next to the mirror in the room. If you want to dry your hair you cannot see what you are doing. Did not affect me but noticeable all the same.

It was ok, it was pricey for the room size but this is London and space is at a premium. If you want large you pay large prices.

It served a purpose and it did a fairly good job at it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2017

Hot small room with no air conditioning, but free wi-fi. Breakfast reasonable. Staff automatons. Location fine if you are 'bus savvy, but at least a mile walk from the underground. Room clean enough. No bar, but cans of cold soft drinks available for £1.50 each!

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank neal_etherington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews