We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dont Visit!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ascot Hyde Park Hotel
Ranked #1,002 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Reviewed August 11, 2012

All the info leads you to belive this Hotel is something else, its not! ITS VERY BASIC.
the room was small .but to be fair it was clean ,bathroom had been refurbished but not very well the extractor fan didnt work. It appeared that they were doing a refurb whilst still open freshly painted walls also the carpet not good, laundry bags left on the stairs, lift was woorying everytime you used it. Had to leave early asked for some sort of breakfast to be made available told yes will do that, nothing there service very poor and a £20 deposit for TV controller? for a TV that didnt work properly.NO Fire intructions .

Room Tip: Don't Botther go else where
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank utalkintome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (699)
There are newer reviews for Ascot Hyde Park Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

290 - 296 of 699 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2012

Room was awful and service was poor wouldn't use again for the price we paid. I put my dogs in better kennels. There was n washing stuff and only one pillow. The lift don't use. Service with a smile was certainly not applied here.

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
Thank Jo2905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2012

Superb location, with a nice looking building, staff are friendly but overall not worth the high price. Not bad if you can find a great deal online as bedroom's are far too basic for a hotel in Central London. Ok a hotel does not need to have a gold toiler but more amenities and nicer furnishings are compulsory than to have old fashioned flat packed budget beds etc. Stayed 1 night i would say is all i needed in the hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed one night in a single room costing £77. The room was small but just adequate. The bathroom had been refurbished in a cheap way but was clean and functional and after letting the water run for several minutes (what a waste) it turned hot. The bed was narrow, not particularly comfortable but the bedding was clean.

But the place is generally run down. The electricals are questionable with switches 'flashing' when operated. Everything electrical has a green label saying 'passed' and a date; some items such as the kettle had four of these. Passed by whom? A 'master' light switch turned everything 'on' and 'off' but it was not possible to switch a light off at the bedside; you had to walk to the door which was down effectively a short corridor formed by the bathroom wall. The television was new(ish) but, as indicated in another review, only available with a deposit of £20. I think you may get the drift of the quality of this place.

The approach to the bedroom included passing old mattresses and boxes stacked in a corner. The 'carpet' was worn beyond any acceptable condition and in some places covered in white paint. As with so many of these places it is a potential death trap.

The breakfast room is in the basement and is one of the worst I've ever come across. A few tables of the (late) MFI's most basic range were hapharzadly located on two levels about half a dozen steps apart. At the top level there was a table with a few boiled eggs, some cheese and corn flakes. I don't know whether anything cooked is provided since I fled remembering though to recover my handset deposit.

To those of us of a certain vintage this is a 'dosshouse' but charging inflated prices. Too much is made in these reviews of London prices and what else can we expect? We can expect better value. Too many in the Paddington area charge these outrageous rates. Some in Norfolk Square, for example, advertise single rooms from £28 upwards. I have not checked them (and have no desire to do so) but at least it seems a more honest approach.

Avoid unless desperate and even then reflect further.

Room Tip: I saw no other rooms
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seiont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

I paid £30 for a single room here, which was small but clean and everything you would expect for the price. Wifi is £2.50 per hour and there is a deposit for the use of the tv. But a decent value stay!

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christophermore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

I booked to stay here with this hotel because it was very cheap compared to other hotels and i was going to a festival at hyde park which it was in walking distance of it. After reading the reweiws on here i must say i was very shocked i wasnt expecting it to be as good as it was. there was four of us, we stayed in a family room with 2 singles beds and a doubke and the bathroom was newly referbished. there was a telly in the room with was also fairly new our veiw from our windown wasnt the best it was the back of the all the shops but other than that it was alright and id defernatly stay here again if i was going to go the festival again which im thinking of doing. i cannot comment on the breakfast becuase we missed it bioth mornings. if your going to london and not going to be spending alot of time in the room and your only using it to sleep then i definatly recommend it and dont believe all the reviews on here because i went with low standards and i was very suprised.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Do u r self a favour and give this a miss. I arrived at 1p.m and they insisted I could not check in until exactly 2o,clock. I explained I.d have a long overnight travel journey, but they mad no attempt to try get me in until exactly 2o,clock. 1o,clock is more than late enough I feel.

Then I asked why I had no remote control for tv, but was told that would cost a 20 pounds deposit, in case it gets stolen!!

Also they charged for wi fi, which should be free

Also they say it's Hyde park ascot, but it's not next to Hyde park

Give it a miss

Room Tip: Dont bother with it.really
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nick s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
0.1 mi away
Tudor Court Hotel
Tudor Court Hotel
#814 of 1,072 in London
632 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Eagle Hotel
Royal Eagle Hotel
#820 of 1,072 in London
1,091 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shaftesbury Premier Hotel London Paddington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
St. David's Hotels
St. David's Hotels
#656 of 1,072 in London
596 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shakespeare Hotel
Shakespeare Hotel
#659 of 1,072 in London
854 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mitre House Hotel
Mitre House Hotel
#543 of 1,072 in London
627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Hyde Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Hyde Park Hotel

Address: 11 Craven Road, London W2 3BP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,002 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Price Range: $84 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ascot Hyde Park Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ascot Hyde Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hyde Park Hotel Hotel London
Ascot Hyde Park Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing