We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas time 2012”
Review of Elmwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elmwood Hotel
Ranked #385 of 560 London B&B and Inns
Europe
Level 5 Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Christmas time 2012”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed there for a longer time. A good place, close to the centre. But very poor breakfast, and noisy nights. Loud voices somewhere in the house, in a strange language, and several nights in a line. Also, they take extra money for God knows what...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Iris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear our client,
Thank you for your recent review towards your
Stay last year Christmas at the Elmwood hotel.

I am pleased to inform you that we have updated our
Breakfast and added several items extra.

We have also taken a serious action with all kind of noise comes from outside
Through the local neighbours,

We do not charge any extra money, the only extra which is published
Clearly on all on line websites is for paying by credit card which is
3.5 percent and you can avoid it if you pay by UK debit card or cash or Traveler cheques!!

So there is no other extras, Brekfast and WIFi are free,
We would like to welcoming you again.
Please do not hesitate to contact me should you want to book again next time
You travel to London.

Yours truly,
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    96
    153
    108
    136
See reviews for
161
121
72
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Nice staff - Tiny room unclean, torn curtains- cheap breakfast.
We had to ask for towels, hair dryer, shampoo, etc
Well situated near St-Pancras station.

Expensive for the size & dirtyness of the room

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Maryse L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Our Client,

Thank your for your review towards your recent stay at the Elmwood hotel,
please accept my apologies as I can see that you were not satisfy from your stay at the hotel for some issues,

Our breakfast is advertised and published on line via all booking agencies that is continental breakfast, which contain ( Cheese, Ham slices, Chicken slices , Boiled eggs,Yogurts, white or Brown Toast, fruit salads, butter, jams, marmalade, coffee, Tea, hot chocolate, Orange, Apple juices, Cornflakes, and coco-pops) if all these items didn't fill your need in the morning!!

Then accept my apologies, as this is fully continental breakfast menu every where in the world!!
I am so sorry that when you arrived your curtain was torn, and we have resolved this issue and checked all our rooms and there is not torn curtain at the hotel, and we found it was 1 or 2 torn curtains previously at the whole hotel with small cuts on it.

finally please do not judge us from one night stay, and we still have some hope to correct our mistakes and satisfy your needs next time.

From Elmwood hotel and in be half of the rest of my staff please accept our best regards.
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2013

Just off main Euston Road in relatively (potentially) calm situation by an area of parkland. There did appear to be some noise from this vicinity at night, though not overly troublesome. Window opened nicely. Some work needed in room - as prev mentioned shower very leaky at joint, and toilet seat joint broken or needed securing. Room smallish and not lots of storage space for hanging clothes (?bring hangers), also rip in curtain which didn't help the welcome...

As has been noted, dining room has 6 tables and there can be a queue, however this also didn't cause us great hindrance.

We found the hotel itself pleasingly quiet and staff friendly. Bed OK if a bit creaky! Pillows a little on the thin side for my taste.

Thank you Elmwood.

Room Tip: maybe ask the staff?
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnyLondonSojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Dear Our Client,
Thank you for your recent review on TripAdvisor website, towards your recent stay at London Elmwood hotel,

I have taken all the small issues your mentioned seriously and passed it over to our hotel management immediately, and 90% of those issues has been resolved, such as the Torn curtain, toilet seat and the leaky shower, we do check up our rooms every 48 hours for general maintenance, I am sure those issues was just recently appeared due the previous stay before your arrival, we would be pleased if you have informed us and we would have taken immediate action to resolve those small issues.

we thank you for your kind positive review towards our hotel location and staff, and from Elmwood hotel and in be half of all the staff we offer you our best regards, and we look forward to welcoming you soon in the near future.

John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Three of us spent 2 nights in a triple room that was at a very tight squeeze for two! the bathroom is barely big enough to turn in let alone change or dry yourself for that matter. We were in room 14, I had to remove the bed covers and find a space behind the door to rid them as they were severly stained and the single beds sheets had rips. No lift so you must carry your bags upstairs which is narrow. Luggage space in the room....... zilch. Breakfast room can not cater for more than 19 people as a result people were waiiting at the door for a space or leaving. Basic breakfast but lovely Mother and daughters serving. Overall its worth looking elsewhere. Our friends checked out and went next door to the hotel which had a large 4 bedroom room and bathroom for a few extra bucks situated downstairs. Also beware if you leave your luggage in this hotel after check out you are charged £10 per piece. Wifi worked fine and reception staff helpful enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aucks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear our client,
thanks for your review towards your latest stay at the Elmwood hotel,

let me thank you first for your positive review towards our hotel location,breakfast and staff
and please accept my apologies for any other issues you mentioned, we have taken the points you mentioned very seriously and checked the quality of cleaning specially with the Blanket left in your room.
I hope you will not judge us from 1 night stay only, please contact me direct next time you wish to make a booking in our hotel, to offer you some sort of discount on your next stay.
regarding the luggage storage, we offer the service as option for our client to choose it or not,
As if you have used the service at Kings cross locker they do charge £10 per bag, but we offer it cheaper for £5 only
john Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I moved from the Park Plaza Riverfront to the Elmwood. Picked the Elmwood out on-line the Park Plaza was part of my tour. The Elmwood had free Wi-Fi as good a breakfast and a great staff. This is just a pleaser place to stay and be right near Eurostar and King's Cross. Go for it...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Eliot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear our guest,
Thank you for your very positive review on Tripadvisor
Website towards your recent stay at London Elmwood hotel,
I am very pleased to hear that we managed to satisfy your needs,
From all of our staff at the hotel we thank you once again
For your kind comment, and we wish to welcoming you in the near future.
Yours truly
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#564 of 1,069 in London
916 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#736 of 1,069 in London
548 reviews
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#30 of 560 in London
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#83 of 560 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#82 of 560 in London
812 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#63 of 560 in London
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Property: Elmwood Hotel
Address: 19 Argyle Square | Kings cross London, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 560 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing