We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Triple room ~ "yeah right"”
Review of Elmwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Elmwood Hotel
Ranked #381 of 556 London B&B and Inns
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Triple room ~ "yeah right"”
Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

Three of us spent 2 nights in a triple room that was at a very tight squeeze for two! the bathroom is barely big enough to turn in let alone change or dry yourself for that matter. We were in room 14, I had to remove the bed covers and find a space behind the door to rid them as they were severly stained and the single beds sheets had rips. No lift so you must carry your bags upstairs which is narrow. Luggage space in the room....... zilch. Breakfast room can not cater for more than 19 people as a result people were waiiting at the door for a space or leaving. Basic breakfast but lovely Mother and daughters serving. Overall its worth looking elsewhere. Our friends checked out and went next door to the hotel which had a large 4 bedroom room and bathroom for a few extra bucks situated downstairs. Also beware if you leave your luggage in this hotel after check out you are charged £10 per piece. Wifi worked fine and reception staff helpful enough.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aucks67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear our client,
thanks for your review towards your latest stay at the Elmwood hotel,

let me thank you first for your positive review towards our hotel location,breakfast and staff
and please accept my apologies for any other issues you mentioned, we have taken the points you mentioned very seriously and checked the quality of cleaning specially with the Blanket left in your room.
I hope you will not judge us from 1 night stay only, please contact me direct next time you wish to make a booking in our hotel, to offer you some sort of discount on your next stay.
regarding the luggage storage, we offer the service as option for our client to choose it or not,
As if you have used the service at Kings cross locker they do charge £10 per bag, but we offer it cheaper for £5 only
john Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    94
    149
    105
    125
See reviews for
154
117
70
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I moved from the Park Plaza Riverfront to the Elmwood. Picked the Elmwood out on-line the Park Plaza was part of my tour. The Elmwood had free Wi-Fi as good a breakfast and a great staff. This is just a pleaser place to stay and be right near Eurostar and King's Cross. Go for it...

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Eliot F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear our guest,
Thank you for your very positive review on Tripadvisor
Website towards your recent stay at London Elmwood hotel,
I am very pleased to hear that we managed to satisfy your needs,
From all of our staff at the hotel we thank you once again
For your kind comment, and we wish to welcoming you in the near future.
Yours truly
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The hotel has a perfec location - about 4-5 minute walk from King's Cross station.
Our room was rather small. Whenever people next door were using the sink or toilet I was woken up by the noise and thought that it was the water in our bathroom! Bathroom itself was not very clean - moldy all round the tiles and ceiling. The worst thing was the linen. I was not expecting 5 star luxury, but I was disgusted when noticed we were given a sheet and blanket to sleep under! I do not have an idea when was the last time they washed the blanket!
Breakfast - toast and poor quality cheese and ham + cereal. I'm glad we were staying for 1 night only!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank madzja85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Dear our client,
thanks for your review towards your latest stay at the Elmwood hotel,

let me thank you first for your positive review towards our hotel location,
and please accept my apologies for any other issues you mentioned, we have taken the points you mentioned very seriously and checked the quality of cleaning specially with the Blanket left in your room.
I hope you will not judge us from 1 night stay only, please contact me direct next time you wish to make a booking in our hotel, to offer you some sort of discount on your next stay.

john Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Nicosia
1 review
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great value for money! I would definitely stay at this hotel again in the future. The room was clean and a decent size. A plus was the free wifi even though the connection was not always reliable. The service was good and the staff was very friendly. The location was perfect, being a breath away from King's Cross Station. My only negative comment concerns the shower as there was virtually no pressure and there was only a trickle of water coming from the shower head.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Filia Anna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear our Guest,
Thanks for your positive review on TripAdvisor website towards your last stay at the Elmwood hotel.
you have mentioned few strong comments about our service and location, I am very glad that you are satisfy from our small budget hotel, we promise you that we will keep the same level of service and even better in the near future, we are looking forward to welcoming you in the near future.

John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
29 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013

I stayed for one night in a single ensuite room and given that it is not too far from St. Pancras, I thought it was of quite a good value. The room was cosy, and continental breakfast was provided as well. My only gripes were the lack of a bathroom mat and anti-slip mat for shower, and the stain on the toilet rim. The shower can get quite slippery when wet, and you sort of have to walk around with wet feet after shower because of the lack of a bathroom mat. That said, it is still a good stay overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lightyearsC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear our Guest,
Thanks for your positive review on TripAdvisor website towards your last stay at the Elmwood hotel.
I would like to offer my apologies for the missing bath Matt in your room, you should have asked our 24 hours staff and they would have assisted you, but once again thank you for the rest of your review regarding the service and the location, we hope to see you again,
all the best from everyone at Elmwood hotel, your place in London.

John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

I spent two nights at the Elmwood Hotel and found it a good option for this price range given this excellent location 2 minutes from King's Cross - St. Pancras station. It is located on a quiet street facing a nice square. The building and rooms would need renovations but it is clean. The staff is friendly and the breakfast buffet has good choice of food. The only problem is that you need to go early for breaksfast (or later) to avoid queue!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mapgin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear our Guest,
Thanks for your positive review on TripAdvisor website towards your last stay at the Elmwood hotel.
we are very pleased that we managed to satisfy your requirements, we promise to keep the same level of service and improve it to the best.
we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Elmwood hotel has a perfect location. Two minutes walking from St Pancrass and the U-tube from where you can get everywhere in town. The personel is very friendly and helpfull.
We stayed in a triple room but it was more like a single room (very small). You could move or sit in this room. The hotel has got about 30 rooms but only 6 tables are available in the breakfast-room which is also much to small.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear our guest,
Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor towards
Your recent stay at the Elmwood hotel.
Thanks for your lovely and positive words regarding our location,staff and
Our service.
Please give the apportunity to welcoming you personaly next time you stay at the El wood hotel
Not only that but offer you the best rate ever.
We apperciate very much your positive review.
John Girgis.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#552 of 1,067 in London
895 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#731 of 1,067 in London
538 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#947 of 1,067 in London
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#76 of 556 in London
559 reviews
Bloomsbury
Angus Hotel
Angus Hotel
#50 of 556 in London
375 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#65 of 556 in London
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Property: Elmwood Hotel
Address: 19 Argyle Square | Kings cross London, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #381 of 556 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HostelWorld, Cancelon, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing