We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hostel, Horrible Hotel”
Review of Elmwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elmwood Hotel
Ranked #365 of 572 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you are expecting a hostel, then you will be pleasantly surprised by your room. We unfortunately were expecting a hotel. My husband and I found ourselves stuck in London an extra night when our train to Paris was delayed 24 hrs. Elmwood was close to St. Pancras Station where our train departed. This "hotel" is more like a house that's had bathrooms added to each bedroom. The room was teeny, tiny and COLD! Even with the radiator on hi for hours. I imagine in the summer it would be equally hot. Three beds were squished into the room, two extra narrow, and one hammock-y, "full sized" bed, with about a foot between each bed. The bathroom was miniscule, but in it's defense- spotless. However the plunger stood naked next to the toilet. Gross. The room itself was also clean, again, it would make a lovely hostel. Except for the ratty underblanket on each of the beds, the kind that collects hair. I can't tell you how many strands of hair I pulled off of myself afterwards. Oh, and we paid $201 for our lovely hostel experience :) Our fabulous hotel at Club Quarters in Trafalgar Square was less, granted that was with advanced booking. I've never been, but try Thistle Euston if you find yourself in that neck of the woods on short notice, the reviews seemed good.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaraDuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2013

Dear our Guest,
Let me first of all to thank you for your time that you spent to
Write your review on Tripadvisir,
Firstly please accept my deep apologies for the incoveience caused during your stay, let me explain
The fact to you that Elmwoid hotel, is a budget hotel in the city centre of London,
You booked a Quad room , room with 1 double and 2 single beds, en suite with breakfast and taxes
Which is 20 percent VAT and 24 percent city tax , which is £150 for this room is
Red able for the are, I am so sorry that you didn't like the standard,
But we advertise Elmwood hotel as a budget place, we are not a star rated,
But we take care if the cleaning very well and we try to improve our service year after year,
Please accept my regards from London, wishing you and your family all the best, and I hope to see you in the near future to thank you personaly for your feedback, which I will raise all your mentioned points to our Directors, to deal with as soon as possibile ,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

261 - 267 of 568 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2013

For the price, good value, comfortable room (not a lot of space but fine), friendly service, very convenient location, decent breakfast included, don't expect luxury, but I would come again and recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Dear our guest,
Thank you really for your smart , polite and positive
Feedback on tripadvoisir, we are truly glad the we managed
To satisfy you in order to provide the best hospitality ever
With our limited standard , we thank you for the stay and we wish
To see you again in the near future,
John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank BrokenMC
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

no common room to sit save a stool in the hallway. Good Internet, cold room, and ok breakfast. I got what I paid for I guess, not more .. Otherwise good location near kings cross . .....................

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for adding you review on tripsdvisor website,
Regarding your stay at the London Elmwood hotel, I am so glad that
You were satisfy about your stay, except some small issues, just to inform you
That our central heating is 24 hours on, all you need to do us to turn the radiator on
In your room and control the temperature !! If you experienced problem with this issue , you
Should have asked our 24 hours reception to help, once again I am pleased to see
Your review and in behalf of Elnwood hotel, we would love to
See you again, John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

If you're paying £50 for a London hotel, you shoudnt expect the Ritz.

The Elmwood is easily located, rooms are small but perfectly comfortable for a night's stay.

I was a little bemused that they don't trust you with the key and don't give you a key for the front door. Felt like I was back at my parents.

Its a great location and reasonably priced, just don't take your loved one on a romantic getaway here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark16roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Dear our Guest, thank you very much for completeing the surveys on trip advisor website regarding you latest stay at The Elmwood hotel, I would like to thank you for your nice starter about the hotel room, and the location, we would love to welcoming you again, your security is our main priority during your stay with us, keeping your room keys at the front desk will protect you from loosing the keys outside and others might access the hotel or your room, we also have the 24 hours reception for extra security, we loved your comments and I would love to see you again and welcoming you personaly in our small family run bussiness. Yours truly John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Anete P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 18, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed March 5, 2013

Rooms: small, noisy and oldfashioned, but clean.
Location: perfect nearby metro and busses. Shops and restaurants all around.
Breakfast: poor, too small for all guests.
Staff: not english but friendly


  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Tas63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2013

Dear Guest,
fist of all I would like to thank you very much for your feedback via trip adviser regarding your last stay at Elmwood hotel in London, just to bring your attention one more time that you booked at a top bed&breakfast hotel, as you mentioned the hotel is clean in a great location thank you for that, but do not expect the Ritz!! thank for your feedback about the Non English friendly staff, but I would love to inform you all our staff included the Day managers are British!! but I am happy that you were satisfy for the staff service.
I would love to welcoming you again at our small family run business Elmwood hotel.
John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#556 of 1,078 in London
944 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#755 of 1,078 in London
573 reviews
Bloomsbury
Jesmond Dene Hotel
Jesmond Dene Hotel
#302 of 1,078 in London
1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#32 of 572 in London
239 reviews
Bloomsbury
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#305 of 572 in London
211 reviews
Bloomsbury
Hotel Meridiana
Hotel Meridiana
#72 of 572 in London
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Address: 19 Argyle Square | Kings cross London, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #365 of 572 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $62 - $248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing