We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“No frills sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Elmwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elmwood Hotel
Ranked #398 of 574 London B&B and Inns
London
2 reviews
“No frills sleep”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

no common room to sit save a stool in the hallway. Good Internet, cold room, and ok breakfast. I got what I paid for I guess, not more .. Otherwise good location near kings cross . .....................

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Stefan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for adding you review on tripsdvisor website,
Regarding your stay at the London Elmwood hotel, I am so glad that
You were satisfy about your stay, except some small issues, just to inform you
That our central heating is 24 hours on, all you need to do us to turn the radiator on
In your room and control the temperature !! If you experienced problem with this issue , you
Should have asked our 24 hours reception to help, once again I am pleased to see
Your review and in behalf of Elnwood hotel, we would love to
See you again, John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    91
    146
    103
    121
See reviews for
151
113
69
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

If you're paying £50 for a London hotel, you shoudnt expect the Ritz.

The Elmwood is easily located, rooms are small but perfectly comfortable for a night's stay.

I was a little bemused that they don't trust you with the key and don't give you a key for the front door. Felt like I was back at my parents.

Its a great location and reasonably priced, just don't take your loved one on a romantic getaway here.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark16roberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear our Guest, thank you very much for completeing the surveys on trip advisor website regarding you latest stay at The Elmwood hotel, I would like to thank you for your nice starter about the hotel room, and the location, we would love to welcoming you again, your security is our main priority during your stay with us, keeping your room keys at the front desk will protect you from loosing the keys outside and others might access the hotel or your room, we also have the 24 hours reception for extra security, we loved your comments and I would love to see you again and welcoming you personaly in our small family run bussiness. Yours truly John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Rooms: small, noisy and oldfashioned, but clean.
Location: perfect nearby metro and busses. Shops and restaurants all around.
Breakfast: poor, too small for all guests.
Staff: not english but friendly


  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tas63_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,
fist of all I would like to thank you very much for your feedback via trip adviser regarding your last stay at Elmwood hotel in London, just to bring your attention one more time that you booked at a top bed&breakfast hotel, as you mentioned the hotel is clean in a great location thank you for that, but do not expect the Ritz!! thank for your feedback about the Non English friendly staff, but I would love to inform you all our staff included the Day managers are British!! but I am happy that you were satisfy for the staff service.
I would love to welcoming you again at our small family run business Elmwood hotel.
John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these London hotels

Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We stayed at The Elmwood recently for 4 nights with our 2 children.
The staff were nice and friendly hotel nice and clean only complaint is the small dining room but that can't be helped. Location was excellent rooms were nice and comfortable. The rooms are small but they all are in London unless you want to pay for the Savoy or the Ritz

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all , I would like to thank you very much for your very positive comments about the hotel Staff & services.

We are so pleased to know that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel and we are most looking forward to welcoming you back again to Elmwood hotel.John Girgis Elmwood hotel manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malta
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

Good location but horrible hotel.. if you can call it a hotel.
Tiny rooms , tiny stairs, no lift for the luggages, not even a carpet for the bathroom, tiny bathroom,
dirty quilts and burned with cigarettes, you can hear every little detail that goes on in other rooms, whether near you , above your room and underneath.

Breakfast .. disaster. You have to ask for bread , dirty plates, no choice at all.. better get a breakfast at mc donalds.

Definately expensive for the service you get.. eventhough you will just use the room to sleep but at least you expect to have the essentials.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Francesca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this review, February 25, 2013
Firstly, I would like to extend my deep apology for the inconvenience you have experienced during your stay, We never mentioned that the hotel have elevator facility on any website, thanks for your feed back about our location ,also about the breakfast , we have upgraded our continental breakfast long time Even before your visit to include boiled eggs, cheese slices, ham and chicken slices, yogurts, fresh fruits, cornflakes , toast butter jams and marmalades , but if all of that didn't met your preference and you prefer McDonalds then this is your openion only and we do value it , but all of our customers likes the continental breakfast, I will put your feed back subject to
study, not to have this repeated again to you or any of our esteemed guests in the future. I hope that you allow us making it right next and contact me on my below e-mail at your convenience. John Girgis info@elmwoodhotel.co.uk I will be glad to assist you for your next booking at our hotel, and please do not judge us from one visit , from London Elnwood hotel and on behalf of the whole staff we thank you for your feed back and we will see you again hopefully John Girgis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#548 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#725 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Bloomsbury
Wardonia Hotel
Wardonia Hotel
#524 of 1,090 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Albion House Hotel
Albion House Hotel
#954 of 1,090 in London
3.0 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#95 of 574 in London
3.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Bloomsbury
Apollo Hotel
Apollo Hotel
#69 of 574 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Property: Elmwood Hotel
Address: 19 Argyle square | Kings cross London, London WC1 H8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #398 of 574 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing