We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good budget hotel for late nights in london or the Eurostar”
Review of Elmwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Elmwood Hotel
Ranked #385 of 563 London B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 27, 2012

On a side street opposite kings cross this is perfectly located for those travelling on the early morning Eurostar trains from St Pancras. The room was reasonably comfortable and cheap though at this price level you will get a few people who are visiting londons bars and clubs for the evening so we didnt get a particularly good nights sleep thanks to some noisy neighbours.

However the traffic on this road is light so I think we were just unfortunate. Had to leave very early so didnt get chance to try breakfast but the door is manned 24 hours so there was no problem with an early checkout.

They do ask you to pay up front on arrival and there was a sign showing a surcharge for credit cards but I cant recall if that was mentioned on the website before booking.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 20, 2013

Dear our client, our lovely Euro star traveller.
Thank you very much for completeing your feedback on trip advisor regarding your last stay at the Elmwood hotel in London, we are very pleased from your nice feedback and trying our service. We loved your decent words, and we look forward to welcoming you again whenever you come back to London, we will do the best to make sure next time you get 100 percent guest satisfaction. John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (541)
There are newer reviews for Elmwood Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 541 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed August 7, 2012

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I stayed in a triple room and the size of the room should have been for no more than a double room. Inadequate storage, inadequate space to move around the room and inadequate size bathroom. You couldn't clean your teeth without the bathroom door being open!! The shower had black mould and the pipes behind the sink had years of dust on them.
Not stated in the website info was that there was a 2 pound a day charge for the safety deposit box. The rooms have inadequate walls and you can hear all noise up to 2 am for those that go out partying. Not ideal for those with families at all.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Thanks for your feedback on tripsdvisor website, regarding your last stay at the Elmwood hotel, we firstly do apologies that you weren't 100 percent satisfy about the room size, I do agree with you that some of our rooms are small, but if you put the hotel central location and the budget , then we will win, across the road the Marriott and Hilton! We are a bed and breakfast hotel.
I am very interested to know your room number that you stated and has dust and mould!!!
Finally we would live to see you next time, we will make sure to have a bigger room and perfect service, in behalf of Elmwood hotel staff please accept our regards. John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
London
1
Reviewed July 20, 2012

Just what I needed. Great service at the front desk, comfortable bed, adequate amenities, and great location. Thanks!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your very positive feedback on tripsdvisor website,
I am very pleased from your very positives comments and review,
Please do not hesitate to contact me direct next time you travel to London,
To welcoming you personaly, John Girgis

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Marcus1001
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
John G, Manager at Elmwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 24, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Crestfield Hotel
Crestfield Hotel
#556 of 1,072 in London
924 reviews
Bloomsbury
Howard Winchester Hotel
Howard Winchester Hotel
#725 of 1,072 in London
551 reviews
Bloomsbury
Central Hotel
Central Hotel
#99 of 563 in London
582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Princess Hotel
Princess Hotel
#27 of 563 in London
229 reviews
Bloomsbury
Fairway Hotel
Fairway Hotel
#83 of 563 in London
570 reviews
Bloomsbury
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
Comfort Inn Kings Cross
#346 of 563 in London
784 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elmwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elmwood Hotel

Address: 19 Argyle Square | Kings cross London, London WC1H 8AS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury , Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #385 of 563 B&Bs / Inns in London
Price Range: $77 - $232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elmwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elmwood Hotel is convenient for all London Travelers, leisure or Business travelers, The Elmwood hotel is located just few minutes walk from kings Cross International,National and local under ground station,where is the Euro Star Train & the Direct connection to Paris, and all the UK cities and Towns, also the very central Location of the Elmwood hotel gives you a special experience and saves your time,The hotel close and 15 minutes walking to the British Museum, and Library, also to Euston train station, and few stops to Madam Tussaud's Museum, and 10 minutes by tube to the west end, Piccadilly, Covent garden and Trafalgar Square, nothing else you need when you are in London to be in a very central location such our Location, we are proud to provide this family run business of 35 en-suite bedrooms, budget clean and nice accommodation,with free WIFI,and breakfast. All our rooms with private en-suite shower and toilet, LCD & DVD TV, coffee and Tea facilities in the room,24 hours central heating,room safe deposit,and 24 hours front office.if you think of arranging a sightseeing tour in or outside London or having a trouble to manage your trip in the City, you will find us helping you in organizing your trip and planing it for you via our helpful front office staff and our reception desk, we will great you since the first minutes of your arrival with your free London city map, and up to your departure with our shuttle bus and the direct connection transfer to your airport.Our Job is to please you and seeing you smile and returning back to us, with out 12 years hotel experience we trust and ensure that your stay is trouble free with Elmwood hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Elmwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elmwood Hotel London, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing