We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better than usual Chinese fare” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of No. 10 Restaurant

No. 10 Restaurant
Ranked #11,379 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Price range: $7 - $21
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: South Kensington
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
209 reviews
146 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Better than usual Chinese fare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have visited this local Chinese restaurant on several occasions, and it produces consistently good quality food with strong Szechuan feel - if you like chilli in your food, there are definitely some good options for you here! The surroundings are simple (although it was refurbished a year or two ago, so it is perfectly adequate) and the service is cool, but certainly not rude or inattentive. If you want a starter then a main course, with the courses brought separately, then make this clear when ordering, otherwise everything can come together. Prices are very reasonable, and the overall experience is definitely positive.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Well priced food, friendly service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

We actually had take-out but the staff were friendly and the food excellent. I think we ordered most things off the menu as we were starving and everything was great. Thanks!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Faye d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food and prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2012

Affordable selections and a wide variety, but rice costs extra

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank VAdesign
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Food, Bad Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

My husband and I sought this restaurant out specifically, based on reviews we had read about the amazing food. Those turned out to be true: the food was amazing! We had one of the fixed menus - they brought out fried rice, and appetizer platter, and three main courses. All of them were absolutely delicious, and reasonably priced.

The service, though, was terrible. When we came into the restaurant, we were the only table. We placed our order and we were still the only table. In short order, four other tables came in and filled - all of them with at least one Chinese speaker. Now, my husband and I do not speak Chinese, but we thought that this must bode well for authentic food, so we were happy. We were not so happy, though, when all of these tables, who placed orders AFTER us, got their food BEFORE us. Then when we tried to pay our bill, the staff took our credit card, put it aside, and processed another table's bill BEFORE they dealt with ours. I have no idea why on earth they would do that...

Long story short, the food is amazing, but if you go there, be prepared for a long wait unless you are a native Chinese speaker.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alebetsamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bologna
Level Contributor
92 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We've liked it very much, although we don't remember what we've eaten , we do remember that every single dish was good and we enjoyed it- also the price was convenient

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank paolamonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No. 10 Restaurant also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to No. 10 Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing