We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great night out”
Review of Feast on the Hill

Feast on the Hill
Ranked #11,360 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Price range: $20 - $39
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Had a large group (11 people) friends and family for a dinner on a Friday night. We specifically booked there because they have live jazz on Friday nights. We had a great night - one of our group got up and sang several times. This is a small cafe like place so was not expecting the food to be so good. But it was reasonably priced and the food was very fresh and they managed to serve us nearly all at the same time. Would definitely go again though we were told no more jazz sessions until the autumn.

Really worth a try and you might be surprised1!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skimadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    18
    9
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Fantastic Brunch”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Eggs Florentine absolutely beautiful. Soya Cappucino perfect. Great little place for breakfast or brunch in Muswell Hill.

Only criticism would be that the girl serving us could have been a bit more friendly rather than so robotic and 'cold.'

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elin0rJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A cool place on a Friday evening”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We popped in on the off chance, not having a reservation. No problem at all. The food was excellent, nothing fancy but well cooked and not bland. A nice bottle of red from Vin de Pays d'Herault in Languedoc. But the piece de resitance was the cool jazz which is a feature of Wednesday and Friday evening, female vocalist and male tenor sax player. Really good, a great way to relax after a torrid week at work.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank nick86235
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Shadow of its former self”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

There is such a glut of cafes and restaurants around the Muswell Hill and Crouch End area that we tend to go to them in rotation. Subsequently, we haven't been to Feast on the Hill for around six months and was looking forward to going there again because their breakfasts were exceptional. I don't know if they have changed ownership but the difference was instantly palpable. Previously if you arrived for breakfast at around 11.00 on a Sunday morning you would have had to wait for a table. This time we managed to sit straight away in a restaurant that was less than half full. We ordered a vegetarian breakfast and a full English only to have two full English placed in front of us. This meant that we ate our breakfasts separately. I then pointed out that on the menu it stated that there would be tomatoes with a full English and there weren't any with my breakfast. By the time the waitress came back with the tomatoes I had finished my breakfast. No apologies, no reduction on the bill. Besides all this the quality of the food has definitely deteriorated along with all the other aspects of what makes a good restaurant. Sub standard food, service and ambience. Won't be going back.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Familyfella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Ok.”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Three of us went there after the cinema on a Saturday night. There were few people in it so the service was quick. I ordered a salad, which was nice but the waitress looked startled when I asked for some nice crusty bread, almost as if I'd asked for something strange and exotic. She offered me a baguette with a shrug. It had probably been a long day.

The meal came to £55 including tip which was already added on to the bill. It was ok...not good but not bad either. Fine for a quick meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 1958speedster356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Feast on the Hill also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to Feast on the Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing