We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
London
Post
Inbox
Search

“PASTA HEAVEN”
Review of Bancone

Bancone
Ranked #979 of 28,989 Restaurants in London
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Description: Bancone, meaning ‘bar’ or ‘counter’ is situated on William IV Street in Covent Garden. We have three dining bars where you can relax and eat while watching the chefs at work in our fully open kitchen. Our menu takes inspiration from many of the 20 regions of Italy and our pasta is skilfully made by hand every day. The exciting result is a combination of both traditional dishes and new creations pushing culinary boundaries with integrity and passion.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The sight of two chefs making fresh pasta in the window entice me into the long narrow room. The customers are young; the ambiance is noisy and buzzy. A helpful waitress shows me a place at the marble counter where I watch the culinary theatre at the open kitchen. Heaped trays of tomatoes, cauliflower, a huge pot of tomato sauce and roaring gas jets are the backdrop to an energetic team of chefs. The waitress offers advice. How right she was: a fried ball of polenta oozes gorgonzola, paradelle with chicken livers and fried sage leaves is the best pasta I have eaten in a long time. Even better is a stunning poached pear with honeycomb and lime cream. Banish memories of the stone-hard, bitter pears of dinner parties. These are flavoured with a memorable blend of spices running from cinnamon to floral aromas I can hardly describe. A glass of Sangiovese and I am replete. Speed of service fell flat at one time. I note that people tend to arrive early at lunchtime. Very good nonetheless. Lovely service.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (398)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 31 of 399 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The restaurant was busy, and we accepted kitchen counter seating. The hostess and service were excellent; however, the food was not quite there... (yet?). The Focaccia was fresh, the Handkerchiefs nothing exciting, the Pappardelle with chicken liver were good, but the White Veal Ragu was rather non-descript (for GBP 18). Wine was good, but pricey. I will be back in a few months to give it another try.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank ALWAYSLEARNING2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Beautiful food and the best service from Giovani. Especially recommend the pork ragù and beetroot gnocchi. We’ll be back!

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Shadazzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

quality pasta and wine. Friendly service from smiling Jessica who recommended well and made us feel happy. I will return again and again. Great food, reasonably priced wine and happy service. How often do you leave west end restaurants feeling all those things

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank Mook1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2020

Had heard good things about this restaurant. Walked in on Sunday evening and they had two seats available for only an hour, which we agreed would be fine. The service was very nice and we finished the starter and main dishes in 40 mins, thinking we had left plenty of time for dessert. However, we were not brought the dessert menu as the manager apparently thought that there was not enough time. Our server went to double/check but by that time, the desire was gone. It would have been nice to get a full hour of service, since that was the agreement. On top of that, one of the chefs had his hairy bum sticking out from his chef’s uniform, which seems unprofessional at best, but actually quite unhygienic.

Date of visit: January 2020
3  Thank Mskyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bancone also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to Bancone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing