We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expected more after reading the blurb”

Wolfe's Bar & Grill
Ranked #14,984 of 22,671 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $51
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Covent Garden
Tilbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Expected more after reading the blurb”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

My partner and I booked for 1730 (31st March 2013) for dinner - she ordered the Fillet Steak and I ordered the T-Bone. My Partner said the Fillet was fantastic - tender and cooked to her liking (rare). My T-Bone was as tough as old boots and full of gristle - I found it inedible. Something else I didn't like was that our bottle of wine was brought to the table opened, with the lid no-where to be seen. We went for a treat and we will certainly not be going back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BarryM844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    117
    57
    46
    68
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
mtvchicka
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Food and fabulous cocktails”
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

As my title suggests, this place is a lovely find! I originally went there based on an offer through a website and am so glad I decided to give it a try! The layout is relaxed yet formal enough if you're on a date and want somewhere nice to go. Their cocktails are as amazing as the food and it truly is a lovely evening whenever I go there. The food is a mixture of American and Mediterranean. My friend enjoyed their burgers too. Lovely place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mtvchicka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex U.K.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Unpretentious food in nice bar type surroundings”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We've eaten here many times over the years and always had a good experience. The food is fairly plain but none the worse for that. Atmosphere is relaxed with nice seating arrangements. Although the actual seating is due for renovating - a bit saggy here and there. Our server was very attentive and took the trouble to apologise that our starter would be about 5 minutes late. Normally you just sit and wait. Food was plentiful and hot. Prices reasonable for a Covent Garden place.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ustraveller11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent Cocktails!”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

If you want somewhere for a lunch then they do a two course express lunch for 10.95 per head which I think is great value in the centre of London (Covent Garden). However my friends were not hungry so we settled for bar snacks, these were fine, not over priced, good portions - and did exactly what it 'says on the tin'.

They have a great choice of drinks - and their cocktails are wonderful but watch it they are lethal!! I have a loyalty card which cost me £5 and gives you 30% off drinks but you must mention this before paying the bill.

Definitely a great place to go if you are in that area and want to relax and take the weight off your feet after shopping!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SmileyDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warmest friendliest atmosphere of any bar in London”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Popped if for a few drinks prior to the theatre at theatre royale drury lane- had a wonderful time, great banter with the bar staff, we will definitely be back!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Craigiet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wolfe's Bar & Grill also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Wolfe's Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing