We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service far beyond the call of duty” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose & Crown - Highgate - CLOSED

Rose & Crown - Highgate
Price range: $37 - $62
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Western North Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Service far beyond the call of duty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

Had an excellant, reasonably priced, two-course lunch in the lovely garden. Plenty of time to relax after seeing Highgate Cemetery and walking up the hill to the restaurant.
When we were ready to leave, we asked our server how to reach an attraction in London. She couldn't. So the manager disappeared for a few minutes and returned with a printout showing us exactly how to get there. The food, the atmosphere and the help were very welcome.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    5
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great venue for daughter's family and friends 21st party”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

Gareth and the staff at the Rose & Crown made organising my daughter's 21st 'family and friends' party a real joy. We were treated to the chance to taste the menu and wines, nothing was too much trouble and on the evening unexpected guests were found a seat, the food was delicious, serving staff were all lovely and very efficient and the wines were kept flowing but not flooding.

A great party venue - thoroughly recommended.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A friendly pub with excellent Sunday Roast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2012

I pop here sometimes for Sunday lunch and it is excellent - juicy beef, homemade yorkshire, well cooked veg all drowned (in my case - love lashings of the stuff) in a really rich, tasty gravy. Yesterday I called 2 ask them 4 a comfy seat and they had a cushion waiting 4 me on my arrival. The only let down is the desserts - small choice and nothing comforting like rhubarb crumble!

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Minimiranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Average overpriced food. Bad service and atmosphere. Not recomended.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

Having lived in the village for 6 years we finally tried the Rose and Crown. The appalling service started from the begining as the restaurant manageress shouted at one of the serving staff in the main restaurant. Aside from this the service was abrupt and not very friendly. Food was very average for the price and easily rivalled by the pubs in the village. I really wouldn't recomend this restaurant to people, and infact don't!

    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TJoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
85 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The Rose & Crown at EPCOT was copied from this London Pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2011

Located next to the Hard Rock Café Merchandise store on Park Lane, this is a must stop for a pint for anyone in the area. If for no other reason than that the English Pub you can find at the England Pavilion at EPCOT Center in Orlando is an exact copy (unconfirmed by me) of this particular pun in London . This was the UK pub Disney used to create the one at EPCOT. The name and logo are the same and the layout is supposed to be as well. The next time I visit EPCOT, I will compare.

  • Visited November 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank WIKITRAVELPEDIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown - Highgate also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing