We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Back again and brilliant again”
Review of The Betjeman Arms

The Betjeman Arms
Ranked #2,506 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Price range: $32 - $58
Cuisines: Bar, European, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Newark
Level Contributor
263 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Back again and brilliant again”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I can't believe there's only 2 reviews for The Betjemen Arms - once again a post-shows / walkabout weekend on the way home. We called in on Good Friday and reserved our favourute table, returning on Easter Saturday evening to find everything perfect. The restaurant and bars were busy but our table was reserved and we had four fantastic meals with fine wine & beers, all served by friendly and attentive staff. We'll be back again and again and again for the perfect end to a London excursion ..... if you're departing from St.Pancras or Kings Cross, I wholeheartedly recommend The Betjemen Arms !

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DrDarwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

523 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    224
    98
    51
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Breakfast stop”
Reviewed April 19, 2012

Great location in the station but average for breakfast.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank s1ward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
368 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Great for pre/post train journey drinks and eats”
Reviewed April 8, 2012

We always seem to find ourselves here on the way to or from places because it's right in St Pancras Station. It's a relatively peaceful part of the station and you can relax and have a decent pint of beer and some tasty food.
I'm not sure about the new configuration at the front, which looks less like a pub, but it was too cold to sit outside last week anyway.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 23RUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beds
Level Contributor
417 reviews
243 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“A regular with some reservations”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Working in Camden and also visiting London regularly at weekends I have been to the Betjamin Arms on many occasions over the last couple of years. I like the atmosphere and environment. No matter what time of day you visit it is a good choice for drinking and eating. Food choices and quality are very good. But prices have changed significantly in that time. For instance the Chilean Sauvignan Blanc that cost £16 a bottle in December(one of their cheapest wines) is now £17.90! My real gripe is the 'discretionary 12.5% service charge' added to your food bill. Of £55.91 over £6 was service charge but I was never at any time asked if I wanted to pay that or not. Discretionary? I like the Betjamin Arms I really do but I would actually go there more often if they played fair with the bill and let me decide whether the service deserved an extra charge or not!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rosebug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Really good beer, food fine”
Reviewed April 4, 2012

Inside the magnificent St Pancras Station, it is surprising that this is a proper pub. The beer is well-kept and reasonably priced, the food is not memorable but well cooked and satisfying.
It can be busy at peak times of course, you might have to push through a crowd to the bar, but there are a lot of staff and they work quickly so it's still worth it even if you only have time for a quick pint.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Martin112358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Betjeman Arms also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to The Betjeman Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing