We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a pleasant surprise”
Review of Terrace Restaurant

Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #7,543 of 22,557 Restaurants in London
Price range: $19 - $39
Cuisines: Mediterranean, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Description: Modern, eclectic and featuring indoor and outdoor dining spaces, the Terrace Restaurantd at the National Theatre offers a delicious, Mediterranean-influenced menu, with a focus on fresh, seasonal ingredients. Choose a selection of small plates, such as Deep fried paprika marinated calamari, Goat's cheese and vine tomato salad with ajili mojili dressing or Steak tartare with toast - or you can let our chef decide with a sharing platter for two or more. Our specially selected wine list has a distinctly European edge, as well as a representative variety of great growers from around the world. Or why not try a cocktail for our seasonally-evolving list such as a Passion Fruit Capirinha or a Tropical Spiced Tea.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise”
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Terrific small-plates menu with loads of variety, good value food and drinks, and easy to make reservations! What a great addition to the Southbank Centre stretch. I will be back, especially if attending a performance at the National Theatre.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Katie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    29
    19
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
313 reviews
278 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Troubled Terrace”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a difficult restaurant to review. The food was absolutely delicious but the portions are tiny. The chef suggests three dishes per person. I went in a group of six. We ordered bread, olive tapenade and almonds and then nineteen plates. This was just about enough and we all ordered desserts and cheese. Without any alcoholic drinks this came to £45.00 per person. I think you can easily go and have a better meal elsewhere for that. I was going to book to go with my husband, but for two people it would come to a fortune as six dishes would not be enough. The service was awful as it was impossible to get hold of a waitress. There was no atmosphere. It is a bit like a canteen. It costs the same to eat at the Mezzanine at The National but there is no comparison. I found this very disappointing and won't be going back.

Helpful?
1 Thank LondonToots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good but not not top”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Visited with friends but had to ask quite a few times for service. The food was good but they need to sharp up a bit..

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

This is the much more relaxed of the National Theatre eateries - both in style and food. We have been many times before but our most recent visit before attending a performance excelled all previous visits. The service was efficient and friendly and the food was inventive both in terms of flavours and presentation. Value is good too. We sat on the outside Terrace looking out over the river, feeling a part of the Southbank buzz but mercifully well away from it's bustle. One quibble -they should put a ramp up from the indoor part to the outdoor Terrace so that wheelchairs and people with mobility issues can get in and out more easily. Otherwise, really outstanding in every way.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank speakout13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
420 reviews
229 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“decent”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Decided to have a light meal here before the theatre. The focus is on small plates for sharing with a recommendation of three plates per person. We opted for four between the two of us and that was fine as a light meal, although we then had a cheese board as well. Some dishes work well - others need work - the calamari was rubbery, the courgette salad bland. But for a light snack, the price soon adds up - we had four small plates, a cheese board, two cocktails, and a half carafe of wine and it was £80. Everything was ''fine'' but we could have gone elsewhere and had a full meal for that price. Staff - slightly indifferent. Next time, I'd head back to the ground floor where you can get a more canteen style menu at a fraction of the price.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TWP64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing