We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“poor value needs Ramsey to rescue!”

London Steakhouse Co - City
Ranked #446 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $78
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: Marco Pierre White Steak & Alehouse is a traditional steakhouse in the heart of the Square Mile, serving a mouth-watering choice of steak cuts and a range of timeless English dishes. Its discreet entrance, just off bustling Bishopsgate, leads you into an archetypal steakhouse dining room, complete with a stylish cocktail bar. As well as the finest quality steaks, the menu features grilled and roast meats, fish mainboards and classic English puddings. Marco Pierre White Steak & Alehouse is popular during the week with the City for client entertaining and boasts a private dining room that seats up to 30 guests. At the weekend, local residents and discerning steak lovers enjoy great food at this hip location just off Spitalfields.
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“poor value needs Ramsey to rescue!”
Reviewed August 20, 2013

this was a gift form our kids and my husband was looking forward to visiting the area he was born and brought up in. However, after a pleasent 50 mile trip on sunday evening, upon being seated it all went wrong!
NO offer of cocktails on arrival we had to ask
The menu was just slung on the table with no conversation. (only 8 others dining)
We asked if we could upgrade to the a la carte but were told full price only (but you can pay extra for T bone?)
The bread box was 2 pieces of mothers pride
The ducks liver was tasteless and the gravadlax was served on a hot plate.
Cold new potatoes
Cold plate for the T bone
Field mushrooms should not be chopped up, if they were field mushrooms!
Triple cooked chips like thick crisps
Cold grilled bacon on the liver
Be aware that nothing else comes with the main unless paid for
The wine was warm and was told it was all like that, so we could not have any wine with meal
We have had better desserts at a Harvester
The manager did change items but he was uninterested in making the experience work.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,140
    2,137
    1,145
    501
    262
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tadworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Book their Steak and cocktail set menu and took the wife here for her birthday. She was very excited as they served calves livers but then found it was not on the menu, it's is still displayed on the web site menu. Food was nothing special considering its reputation, ribeye steak was tough and tasteless. Service was very good and they were busy, good atmosphere

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Level Contributor
53 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Better than expected.”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Went on a Saturday night on a voucher deal. 3 courses and a glass of Champagne.
We were on a limited budget, so went with the intention of spending very little. We asked for and were given tap-water(free), my wife's Steamed Fish came with Mash and a poached Egg on top(so no sides to order there), and I had the Steak(at no extra cost), but it just came on it's own, so I ordered a side dish of Chips. Didn't have any wine, so the bill with, with 12.5% discretionary charge came to nearly £8, which considering we went on a cheap voucher, was a bargain.
The place was quite full(it was Saturday evening), so the atmosphere was good, the service was very good, and the food was delicious.
I would DEFINITELY go again, if I got another cheap voucher. We thoroughly enjoyed the night.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chowdray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Family lunch for four.”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We had a really great time with delicious food. It was an interesting menu. We were surprised that there was such an imaginative choice of fish & other courses available, if you didn't want to have a steak. Portions were really generous and the service was friendly and efficient - it's so much more than a stylish steak-house.

I had a prawn cocktail starter that was an old-school classic with lots of the plumpest prawns. Having already said that it's much more than a steak-house, I still chose a fillet steak. It was a good choice, cooked perfectly medium-rare as requested. Their triple-cooked chips are a MUST. All four of us agreed that we'd had a great lunch.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank magicsnaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
32 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good Food, Good Cocktails”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My husband & I had a great visit here on 10th August, Saturday lunchtime. We enjoyed a 3 course lunch and champagne cocktail each, a 40th anniversary gift bought by voucher from friends. The place had great atmosphere, the staff were attentive and friendly, the cocktails were delicious and the food was superb. We settled for mackerel followed by steak and for duck pate followed by pork. We both had our favourite Bakewell tart to finish. We knew in advance that our voucher would not cover side orders or coffee but we found these to be good value for money and our choices of 4 sides enhanced our meal beautifully. Considering some earlier reviews were scathing, we were very pleasantly pleased all round with our experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LFP_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to London Steakhouse Co - City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing