We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal, but dont think i would visit again”

London Steakhouse Co - City
Ranked #444 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $29 - $77
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Description: Marco Pierre White Steak & Alehouse is a traditional steakhouse in the heart of the Square Mile, serving a mouth-watering choice of steak cuts and a range of timeless English dishes. Its discreet entrance, just off bustling Bishopsgate, leads you into an archetypal steakhouse dining room, complete with a stylish cocktail bar. As well as the finest quality steaks, the menu features grilled and roast meats, fish mainboards and classic English puddings. Marco Pierre White Steak & Alehouse is popular during the week with the City for client entertaining and boasts a private dining room that seats up to 30 guests. At the weekend, local residents and discerning steak lovers enjoy great food at this hip location just off Spitalfields.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Nice meal, but dont think i would visit again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We went here for an anniversary meal on a thursday night, we had a deal for £49 three courses and a champagne cocktail.
We were seated quickly and the courses came quickly, we had our starters and main course in 45 minutes. Our starters werent the ones we ordered and the manager came over to apologise.
The rest of the meal was ok, pity you had to pay extra for chips to go with the steak (which was amazing) surely it wouldnt break the bank to supply a few potatoes.
Overall a nice meal, but even with the deal our bill was £23 on top so not such a good deal. I would hesitate to go here again even with a deal.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yesimawake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

7,945 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4,002
    2,086
    1,117
    488
    252
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Worth A Visit Now & Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Went here Sat night for a special treat for the wifes 50th birthday on a voucher deal. Had a late reservation 9pm. Hors d'oeuvres a bit of a let down & pricey, 2 x prawn cocktails £25 (plus service charge) approx 4 prawns included with each cocktail each one cut carefully in half to make it appear there were more. Steaks superb. Side orders nice but pricey. Staff really good & friendly, I wanted a rib eye steak but they had run out, I was offered a 10oz sirloin instead no extra charge, very nice. They had also run out of onion rings (a real treat of a side order) but after complaining the manager appeared with 2 x side orders (onion rings) complimentary. A nice touch. I had pre-ordered a Birthday cake which didnt appear, this was obviously dissapointing. Overall we are 50/50 as whether or not to go back, but we did have a nice evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cungi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice steak, shame about the rest.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

We booked the MPW steakhouse for a large business dinner. It is close to the office and we thought it must be good given the MPW stamp. Came accross a brilliant offer when I was booking on bookatable so thought why not use it. Turns out the offer wasn't as great as expected. While everyone got a piece of meat for their main course, that was it.... all extras were chargeable and at £4 for 4 heads of brocolli, rather expensive i thought. The steaks were an extra £6, and as it was a steak house, naturally most wanted the steak.

I must admit, the steak tasted lovely, and was cooked to perfection, however, the starter and desert left a lot to be desired. overall, really not impressed.

The staff were nice, however it did feel a little like we were being rushed, as before we had time to digest one course enough to make room for the next, it was on the table. If it had been up to the staff we would have been in and out within the hour (even though there was a large group of us), we managed to drag it out a little with drinks afterwards just for easiness, however, thinking about it, we should have taken the business elsewhere. overall poor experience, don't think we would go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TACS1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The restaurant Marco forgot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We dined at the venue for lunch on a weekday on an Amazon voucher deal. This provided a 3-course meal with champagne for two people for only £49.

This restaurant could be great, but never quite gets going. Points were lost all over the place. Staff were mostly pleasant, although uninformed (I asked for a rare or signature beer, was offered 'Bombardier'), providing short, curt answers to all questions. Only the maître d' attempted to engage us on any level. The worlds loudest coffee grinder sits in the middle of the bar, mashing coffee beans and diners conversation with mechanical ease. Grandpas record collection has been dusted off and put to work annoying the crap out of anyone under the age of 60. It took a couple of requests to finally get a bill even though the place was practically empty.

As to the food, my duck pâté was very good: roughly textured but delicately flavoured. Happily, it arrived without the waiters thumb planted in it, unlike my partners entree. Also, my steak was superb: Perfectly cooked, a very decent cut of meat. My pregnant wife's pinkish steak was recooked without fuss. A side of Triple-cooked chips were good but a cress salad was guilty of being limp and tired.

Overall, I'd say Marco has probably forgotten this place bears his name, but 3-courses for 2 @£49? P'raps I expected too much.

I hope this review has been helpful. If it helped you to make a decision about this restaurant, you know what to do...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank RamblinHeart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Hoping for a good steak...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

But we were disappointed.

Let's start with the fire on the tv screen - if there isn't a fire, don't pretend.

We asked the waiter what "triple cooked chips" meant. Basically, he explained, that they reheated them by frying (a third time) when a customer orders them. YUM!

Our entree salad arrived literally within 2 minutes of ordering - no illusion of preparing it fresh.

Our wines subsequently arrived. Having asked for a 'meaty' wine for our steaks we were given what can best be described as a "Tuesday night pasta wine".

On to the steak. Firstly the sauces that arrived we're not as ordered (there were only 2 choices, so a 50%) chance. The steak itself was poor. Too thin and far too much salt.

Service was fine, but the staff suffered as we weren't going to pay a tip in this restaurant.

Coming from Australia where MPW is a celebrity we were so disappointed. We will never eat in one of his restaurants again. He shouldn't be giving advice on tv until he has his own shop on order.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KazzP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed London Steakhouse Co - City also viewed

 

Been to London Steakhouse Co - City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing