We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food but don't say yes unless you mean it”
Review of Curry Palace

Curry Palace
Ranked #16,413 of 22,552 Restaurants in London
Price range: $16 - $32
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Notting Hill
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food but don't say yes unless you mean it”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the kind of place where they want to pile on all the extras they can. Rice, bread, dips--they're all extra so make sure you're not saying yes to something that's 10 pounds without knowing it. That said, the food was excellent and the rice, bread, dips that we got without knowing it were all wonderful. We "only" spent 35 pounds for both of us, but were expecting to spend around $12 when we went in. Oh, well, we were on vacation! Service was great, too.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ncluff52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    27
    25
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bland and Disappointing”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

My husband and I ate here with another couple. We eat Indian food often and this restaurant did not even come close to meeting our expectations. The service was at the machine just like everyone else here has found. The food was not bad, it was just bland. With all the wonderful Indian restaurants in London, I would not go back to this one.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NMM05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
133 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Why isnt anything done about this place”
Reviewed September 5, 2013

My experience matches all the others. Sat down with a group of friends, enquired about the menu for four, the waiter told us he could do something much nicer for us, a little taste of things was what we wanted?
We DID ask the price, he said dont worry, it will be very little. I was a little uneasy and should have gone with my gut instinct. Or should have read trip advisor!

£130 for a meal for four - 4 mains, no starters or desserts, 3 rice, 2 naan, one main course for two kids to share, no wine or spirits. We asked for water and he brought a large bottle of mineral water which he opened before we realised.

This is the type of restaurant which needs an undercover reporter with a hidden camera to expose their little ways. Watchdog where are you???

Food was actually ok, but most of the occupied tables seemed to have some type of altercation when their bill arrived.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank smallfootstep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zug
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very good food, but bad waiter”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

On our first evening in London we went to the Curry Palace in Queensway.
When we sat down we were asked if we wanted their spicy and plain Papadums and the Relishes. Little did we know that each one cost £0.70/0.60 and the Relishes were an additional £2.50!
So before we even started our meal we had already spent £6.40.
So don't fall for this trick and instead check the menu before taking the Papadums or anything they might offer. If you want them they were very good, but at least you know what you are paying for.
Otherwise the Indian food was very good and can hightly recommend. Each of us (3) took a different dish and enjoyed the meal.
The waiter we had was very unfriendly especially as we didn't take the dish he recommended, the extra Nann or that we only wanted 1 Rice between 2 of us (I am not a big eater and felt that we could always order another one if we wanted) or the fact that I didn't want to order a drink /g (I wasn't thirsty). My husband took a beer which we found on paying was very expensive.
I know that they can make a profit on the extra's such as Nann and the Drinks but a waiter should accept a guest's decision.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Silverstar28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“À B S O L U T E L Y HORRIBLE”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Do not go to this place . The waiter was rude and very pushy he totally decided what we eat wheras we wanted something else but he dont care about what we say and choose more expensive things . Dont even want to talk about the bills which was enormous compared about what we eat.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Romain2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curry Palace also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Curry Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing