We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth a visit”
Review of Town House

Town House
Ranked #249 of 22,659 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $76
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: Town House at The Kensington hotel offers a graceful blend of classic heritage and flawless modern style. Comprising three interconnecting drawing rooms with enchanting details such as fireplaces, a hidden whisky bar and a carefully curated library, Town House is The Kensington's restaurant, private dining and event space - providing a unique venue for intimate dinners, glamorous drinks receptions, book launches and informal meetings. Open from 11am to 11pm, Town House Bar, with its wood-panelled walls, subtle lighting and smoky blue glass ceiling, provides a cosy, clubby ambience and an impressive menu of fine spirits and cocktails.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Really worth a visit”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We booked afternon tea off the net last minute and paid half the price. The hotel is amazing really swanky great for a treat and to relax away from the hustle and bustle of london. Set in kensington a lovely location too!
The restaurant was extravagant and original and service was out of this world. Amy was very attentive and helpful.
OMG the sandwiches were spectacular all on diff bread and very tasty, we had high tea with a savoury option instead of scones and then loads of cakes ! Endlss tea!! I booked this to treat my fiance and he was blown away ! for 28 quid for two go for it !!! but book the deals as 56 is a little too much!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nic1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    189
    45
    16
    11
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tea with Class”
Reviewed August 3, 2012

As it happened to be Afternoon tea celebration I thought I should partake in some myself and booked the Aubrey to experience it there (had tea at The Dorchester and Harrods etc already). I have to say it was such a peaceful, pleasant and throughout tasty experience. Everything we tried from the tea to the finger sandwiches to the sweets were amazing. The service was superb and the ambience great. I will be going again and would recommend looking out for a deal like I did (2 for 1) so when the bill comes you will smile just as I did.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Natalie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Nothing great”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

We ate here n our first nights stay in hotel Kensington. Nothing special or stellar about the service nor food. Cold attitude and salty food.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Michloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A Special Night Out”
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We visited the Aubrey as part of the London Restaurant Fortnight and had a three course meal for £25 each. Although the special menu was limited and not the full a la carte, the food was outstanding. Two starter butternut squash soups and two smoked haddock fishcakes were beautifully presented and very tasty. Salmon and chicken followed. That sounds like any other restaurant, but the chef had made both dishes special and wonderfully tender and delicious both to the eye and to the stomach. We ended with creme brulee and chocolate brownie but again served elegantly and beautifully. A nice wine, great and unrushed service with a smile and a wonderful dining room made it a special evening out in London. Worth taking a chance - I would love to try out the a la carte menu next time.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gnreid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
184 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, attentive staff and great attention to detail”
Reviewed March 4, 2012

We booked an early diiner here as we were going to the Royal Albert Hall. From the moment we arrived we felt it was special. The hotel lounges had roaring fires, and a mixture of work colleagues, and ladies enjoying cream teas. We were shown to the bar where we sat and chose from the menu. We weren't hurried, but given time to browse. The restaurant was empty when we got in there, but had a nice feel to it. A book case on one side, nice lighting, occasional cushions etc. The food was excellent. I had the peppered goats cheese to start. It came with a rocket and pine nut salad and beetroot. Very tasty. The bread was warm and had a nice mixture of white and wholmeal and a nutty type bread. For mains I ate the pan fried cod, which was cooked to perfection, it came with wilted spinach, a leek and potato layered cake and a mustard sauce which was delecate and did not detract from the flavour of the fish. My partner had the mixed grill, which was beautifully presented on a wooden board, and huge. He was pleased he had decided not to go for a starter. He said the meat, without exception, was very good quality and extremely tasty. It also came with an egg, hollandaise sauce, and a basket of twice cooked chips. After all that we decided against desserts, but with our coffees were given two beautiful home made chocolates. Our server was friendly and seemed to time her visits to our table to perfection, not intruisive, but on hand when we wanted her. All in all it was a great dining experience, and we would happily return.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Town House also viewed

 

Been to Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing