We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice and cosy” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sushi Waka

Sushi Waka
Ranked #5,730 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Camden
roma
2 reviews
“Very nice and cosy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

A family run restaurant, very small but cute with traditional elements of Japanese culture. The fish was very fresh and yummy.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emiliacia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    21
    4
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
174 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Japonês autêntico em Londres.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

Sushi Waka is a family run restaurant and you can feel that all the dish are made by Japanese Chef. All the waitress are japanese and you can order in english or japanese, Yeah, it is pure japanese tradicional restaurant. I like it very much.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank danishimura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great little authentic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

One of my favourite traditional sushi places to go to! Its a small and intimate setting so you do feel as if you have found a little gem near the heart of Camden. The fish is generous and the set menu/bento boxes are very good. The price is very reasonable as well for sushi standards and the green tea ice cream finishes off a good meal. I've visited this place with my boyfriend as well as friends and they are also pleasantly surprised to find such a good sushi place relatively nearby. Location wise its a 5-10 minute walk from the station so I've come to Camden before just for the restaurant. Its a small place so I would recommend booking other wise you will be disappointed. As long as things keep running the way they are, I can see myself coming here time and time again!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flippityfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

I'm a regular here, and it never disappoints. Excellent sushi and hot dishes (I recommend the soft shell crab). There's a gorgeous Japanese room upstairs if you fancy a more authentic experience. The bill never comes to more than £40, which is a good amount of food and Saki. Definitely the best in Camden, and one of the best in London for the price.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RockTheBelles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delicious and good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2014

Four of us enjoyed an early dinner at Sushi Waka before a gig at the Jazz Cafe. On a Tuesday night it was full, I was glad we had booked. The sushi was lovely, fresh and beautifully presented, marred only by the chef's over-generous hand with the wasabi - I like wasabi but here we couldn't taste the fish for the eye-watering amount of it. Great value, I would go back but tell them to go easy on the wasabi.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank catcomail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi Waka also viewed

 

Been to Sushi Waka? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing