We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pricey and lousy”

The Jones Family Kitchen
Reserve a Table
Ranked #2,825 of 28,444 Restaurants in London
Price range: $25 - $65
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighborhood: Belgravia
Description: Recently honoured by being listed as the Top Steakhouse in London by Steak Society, The Jones Family Kitchen is tucked away in recently beautifully restored historic Eccleston Yards, between Ebury Street & Victoria Station. It is an independently owned modern steak restaurant & bar that takes great care in the sourcing of products it uses. Their main focus is meat cooked on their Josper Grill, but there are always at least two vegetarian dishes on their a la carte and gluten free a la carte menus. They have 30 wines by the glass on their 80 strong wine list. The restaurant has both indoor seating and outdoor seating, in the form of a terrace within pedestrian only Eccleston Yards.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Few if any redeeming qualities. Weak service - poor food - unpleasant setting. I guess wine list ok but not great. Even their bragged about steak is pretty lousy.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank HonestMcHonest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaWatts, Owner at The Jones Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi HonestMcHonest,

I am very sorry and sad to read that you did not enjoy your meal or our service and décor. Please accept my apologies that your experience was clearly not up to our usual standard. Would it be possible for you to let me know fuller details including when you were in, and the dishes you ate, so that we can look into it further. We take all feedback very seriously and use it to help us to continually improve our offering for all diners. My email is anna@jonesfamilyktichen.co.uk.

Kind regards

Anna Watts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 104 reviews

Reviewed August 10, 2019

The Jones Family Kitchen is a little off the beaten track but well worth the visit. The menu was interesting, with a whole range of dishes that appealed - especially to those of us wanting meat. Which is not to say that there was a shortage of green and vegetables: there was a moment when I was thinking of having three all-vegetable starters, they all sounded so delicious.
We had a range of greens and some great beets, with at least one of us choosing what turned out to be a fantastic steak. The wine list was a bit too long for a simple lunchtime meal, but we had a decent red and, for a restaurant in that part of town, it was reasonably priced.
It's the setting, with the community gardens and inner courtyard that set the JFK apart. Certainly one of those places that sticks in the memory.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Spencer N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2019

Bad service and won’t return. The staff were very lazy and one of the chicken dishes was served raw.

Date of visit: August 2019
1  Thank 1winjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaWatts, Owner at The Jones Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi 1Winjes,

We take food hygiene extremely seriously and have very rigorous preparation and cooking protocols which are thoroughly recorded and thus we can confidently reassure you, as we did at the time and have since, that your chicken (both times) was thoroughly cooked and in fact reached and remained at safe temperatures for the pasteurisation of any food-borne pathogens twice during it's preparation. The salad you ordered with the option of bacon, chicken or goats cheese has been on our menu for a long time. It's been a very popular dish and is one that I myself regularly have. As happened in the case of the dish served to you, the chicken can occasionally have a pink hue to it because we use thighs and marinate them prior to cooking in paprika, sriracha, cayenne pepper oil, garlic, onion and several herbs. As well as thigh meat varying in colour and texture due to its greater muscle mass over breast, the cayenne, siracha and paprika in the marinade can share their colour with the chicken particularly in the skin area, the part you were concerned about. For chicken to be fully cooked the core internal temperature has to reach 70°C for a minimum of 2 minutes or 65°C for a minimum of 10 minutes. We cook the chicken for this dish in our Josper grill, which cooks at 500°C, twice and each time the chicken reaches and stays cooking at safe temperatures for pasteurisation of any bacteria throughout the thigh. We are always happy, and were in your case, to provide a second dish for anyone who is not enjoying their meal. When we checked back on you, you did not mention your concerns again and thus were sad to read your review this morning.

Best wishes

Anna Watts

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2019 via mobile

I ate in here last week after it had been recommended by family visiting London in May and i loved it. I will definitely come back with my husband.

The menu is varied and extensive, the quality of food is excellent & the service is really good too. The atmosphere in the restaurant is a relaxed but trendy vibe.
It was expensive but no more than other similar places in London.

Good cocktails & side dishes!!!

Definitely worth a visit if you haven’t been and only round the corner from Dominique Ansel Bakery so you can pop in for one of their “cronuts of the month”

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank Jam220912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaWatts, Owner at The Jones Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jam220912, We're very happy we were able to welcome you. Please thank your family very much for recommending us. We're delighted you enjoyed our menu, service and vibe. We hugely look forward to welcoming you again with your husband. Best wishes from Anna and the whole team at The Jones Family Kitchen p.s I'm glad you enjoyed combining your trip with visiting the lovely team at the Dominique Ansel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2019

I cannot recommend the Jones family kitchen enough. The food is absolutely superb. The staff are amazing. The choice of wine is sublime. Without doubt the best restaurant I have had the pleasure to eat in years

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank JamieMMKirkwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AnnaWatts, Owner at The Jones Family Kitchen, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hi Jamie, Thank you! We hugely enjoy welcoming you and are very happy you enjoy our food, wine and welcome :-) Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on us. We hugely appreciate it. Best wishes from Anna and the whole team at The Jones Family Kitchen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jones Family Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to The Jones Family Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing