We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good coffee and good service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nude Espresso

Nude Espresso
Ranked #172 of 834 Coffee & Tea in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $15
Cuisines: Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Spitalfields
Louisiana
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Good coffee and good service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I happily ran into this coffee shop. The service is good, the coffee is above average. The food we had was nice, but not spectacular. Happily or sadly, it has no WiFi. I don't know that I would travel a great distance for it, but it was worth a stop while in the area.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank anacri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    56
    21
    12
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
110 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best brunch in East London”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

As a Londoner who likes to brunch I've eaten at a lot of great places but I will always choose Nude Espresso over every other place. The coffee (their own brand) is delicious, the service is a delight and the food (locally sourced) is awesome.

There's a great buzz about the place and you need to get there early on a weekend as it's very busy due to Brick Lane Market.

If you don't eat carbs then you can try the butternut squash with fried egg and goats cheese on top. The fruit salad is delicious and the big full breakfasts (both meat or veggie) are yum.

I love this place.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jesseecar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
265 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 219 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Always high quality breakfast type food (eggs and other options), and excellent coffee. Nice staff and brilliant atmosphere. Always love a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JonathanKlein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good coffee when you have it at their shop”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I really consider Nude as one of the best roastery in London.
And a cup of coffee at either one of their two own shops, it's always very good.

That's why it's really a shame that one can't taste the same when their coffee is used in other shops.

Still have to find one that can serve it properly.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank laraj688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Great coffee”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

I'm a self-confessed coffee snob. I believe there is no such thing as 'instant coffee'. I don't believe in Starbucks. I rather like Cafe Nero, and Costa is a nice place to while away a few minutes with a flat white. But top of the league is Nude, the New Zealand coffee folks, with a nice, homey cafe in Soho Square, London. The baristas are friendly, and know a lot about their product. For me, a cappuccino is too milky, and a latte is far far too bland. Sometimes an espresso is too harsh, and an espresso macchiato or a piccolino fills the need. Or a gorgeous flat white, like the one I just had at Nude. (I realise I am beginning to sound like Goldilocks: 'and this one was Just Right!") If you buy a bag of beans (whole or ground to your specs), you get a free coffee. And in my case, I got two freebies, just because my barista saw how much I liked the brew she had made me. Monmouth Coffee got there first with the free coffee with a bag of beans, but to my mind, Nude has them beat. Delicious coffee, strong without bitterness, smooth, creamy, soothing. And the atmosphere in there is great: wooden tables, with outdoor seating on the pavement overlooking the square. And if you're lucky (or unlucky!) the hari krishnas will come by, beating their rhythm of world peace on their way to their vegetarian restaurant around the corner.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebel1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nude Espresso also viewed

 

Been to Nude Espresso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing