We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Freshly Cooked, A Chef with Finesse”
Review of W1 Restaurant at The Cumberland - CLOSED

W1 Restaurant at The Cumberland
Price range: $30 - $89
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Marylebone
Description: Since 2005, Marble Arch in central London has become a somewhat of a gastro-destination thanks to celeb chef Gary Rhodes��� W1 Brasserie (and its fine dining equivalent, W1 Restaurant). Located in the luxe Cumberland Hotel, chef and patron Gary Rhodes has created an appealing menu of modern European dishes, encompassing all that is good about French, Italian and British cuisines and British produce. You could start with a luscious charcuterie plate, then move on to a seasonal pasta dish and finish with a full-bodied British grill, or succulent roast chicken. Though that would mean missing out on dessert and, with tempting dishes like cr��me caramel and raspberry souffl�� on offer, and that���s not something we would recommend. The Brasserie, like the Cumberland Hotel, boasts striking contemporary d��cor, and its popularity and friendly professional staff ensure the atmosphere is always buzzy and welcoming.
Preston, Lancashire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Freshly Cooked, A Chef with Finesse”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

The food at The Cumberland, Restaurant, Bistro and Cafe is all of a good quality. For us, it was the freshness of the cooking and the finesse demonstrated that excelled.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank LancashireAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    45
    34
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Now I know what it is like to be spoilt”
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The restaurant is small and intermate.The chandeliers give it a very royal setting.
The maitre-d' Jason was very professional and attentive and made us feel most welcome.
The sommelier was very knowledgable and helpful.
Our waitress melissa was a delight.
Now the food.We went for the 5 course tasting menue which was fine but could have been better,the fillet steak was tough and on pointing this out to the staff we were told that nothing could be done as the chief had gone.They were most opologetic and made ammends by the offer of cheese and biscuits.
The staff had made the evening so memorable that the food side of it was secondary.On the whole we had a great evening and would not hesitate to recommend and return to this restaurant sometime soon ( maybe I shall see you there).

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterC157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very average”
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

Was excited to visit this restaurant but we were both let down by the average food we were served. Service was ok and the decor and atmosphere were both pleasant. Massively over priced for what we experienced.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MonkeyMonsoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
141 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good food but a bit short for a one michelin star”
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Good service, good food but lack a wow factor. Good points on table spacing and the decor. I prefered the food in other 1 michelin star restaurants in London though. Time out deal was a special 5 course menu, however you get petits fours with your glass of champagne and also get the pre desert. So not far at the end from the regular 7 course tasting menu. Big appetites be warned on the time out deal as these are degustation sizes.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank asperret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasting lunch.... Incredible!!!!!”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I visited W1 for lunch last Friday 1st March with my Mum. We were booked in for the 5 course tasting menu (which costs £30, such a bargain!) The decor in this place is beautiful as is the ambience. White linen table cloths, linen napkins, polished silver. Real fine dining. The staff, particularly Jason could not have been nicer or more helpful. The food was absolutely incredible, we just loved it. Service truly impeccable. Such a lovely dining experience. Only one negative, there was only our table and one other booked in for lunch, which doesn't create much in the way of atmosphere but I guess its not their fault.

I can't recommend this place highly enough!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachelalissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed W1 Restaurant at The Cumberland also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing