We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Amazing Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of iYara Thai Restaurant

iYara Thai Restaurant
Ranked #2,331 of 20,770 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: We also provide a Takeaway service. NOTE: This is COLLECTION ONLY.
Kent, UK
Level Contributor
139 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Amazing Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

After a long, hot day on Centre Court, Wimbledon, a quick bit of research and read of the reviews on Trip Advisor resulted in my partner and I deciding to eat at Yara. Being a Saturday evening I thought we would be lucky to get a table but not so - the restaurant is away from the village and the centre of Wimbledon and fortunately was able to accommodate my partner and I and at short notice. The owner helpfully explained that there was plenty of parking on nearby roads because restrictions were suspended at 6.30pm. The restaurant is quite small and intimate with a competitively priced menu offering a good choice of typical dishes. All of the dishes were beautifully presented. We had the deep fried prawns and duck spring rolls for starter, both of which were delicious, followed by the green papaya salad and lamb masaman curry. I have had the masaman curry many many times in Thailand and this was as good as if not better than on those occasions. Amazing flavours, freshly prepared food and great presentation - all you could ask for. The owner was the only person waiting so service was a little slow but it was well worth the wait. The only minor criticism is that the restaurant was incredibly hot - this was one of the hottest days of the year (so far) and because the restaurant is on a main road it wasn't possible to keep the main entrance door open. The small Dimplex fan above the door didn't seem to be doing much. We heard the owner talking about getting a new fan the following day and so this shouldn't be an issue for those rare hot summer nights. If we manage to secure tickets for the tennis again next year we will most certainly be returning. Well worth a visit - you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Rob007Kent_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    132
    27
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to iyara last night for dinner. We frequently have takeaway meals from iyara and it is always fantastic. The food is always delicious and the service when eating at the restaurant was excellent-we didn't feel rushed at all. Highly recommended!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank CLSW19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Great Surprise Awaits you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

I have been going to the restaurant since the opening and have always found the owner welcoming, friendly and very helpful when especially when are not sure of what to order, having tried more or less most of the dishes favourite is the fish dishes

Décor good not over done, its small but cosy would recommend to all friends, the only downside wine on the pricey side

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank doreen348
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
137 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
“Thai fare, as authentic as it gets...!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice place. Quite small, making it nicely cozy. There is not the great showy opulence that is sometimes seen in many Thai restaurants. But the food was really good. It is the owner himelf who waits on you and explains the intricacies of the dish so that you are not left to be blindly choosing from the menu.

The wine was on the pricey side, IMHO
Hence I have marked it down a peg on "value".

A most pleasant evening. We would like to go back...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Imliooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

I can't tell you how delicious the food is here, a visit to this lovely little restaurant is a must when in Wimbledon. As soon as you walk in you're greeted by the owner, with a true passion for authentic Thai cooking, He was delighted to tell us that the green looking tomatoes in the green curry were prized Thai aubergines. From the chilled tunes, scented candles and hand thrown elephant crockery. This is a miniature paradise to get away from it all...

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MissF00die
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed iYara Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to iYara Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing