We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly rude and not so innovative”

The Jolly Gardeners
Ranked #3,626 of 27,329 Restaurants in London
Price range: $8 - $29
Cuisines: European
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed January 20, 2020 via mobile

We’ve been supporting this place since it opened. Accepted the food wasn’t innovative and menus unchanging but still overpriced - forget the whole master chef reference. We went because it was local.

The latest 2 visits were unacceptable. Food OK albeit tepid but owner/management attitude truly appalling.

This place overrates itself. A comment to management - Do not interrupt a meal and raise your voice for no reason to pleasant people over a request to be be seated at a pre-booked table inside after being placed outside in the cold instead for inexplicable reasons. Apologies weren’t even necessary but rudeness is unforgivable.

Better when JJ was ever present. This place now sucks. Go to the Leather Bottle down the road instead. No ‘master chefs’ but great chefs and a heap of wonderful management and supporting team.

Date of visit: January 2020
Thank DanLovesFood100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jollyg154, Owner at The Jolly Gardeners, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good evening,

In response to your feedback, I'm reliably informed that we made every effort to accommodate both yourself, guest and 2 dogs. As you know, we are an extremely dog-friendly pub, but if any dog(s) act in a manner that cause concern to our customers, many of whom are families, we have no choice but to politely ask you to leave before any incident occurs. "If there's no other dog to go for, they go for each other" doesn't make our customers feel any less awkward, especially with children present.

We do hope you enjoy your time spent at the Leather Bottle.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 146 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2019

Family of 6 ages 17 to 91. Made to feel very welcome. Good choice of drinks. Short but very good menu catering for all including vegan choices. Great food. Super waiter who was very busy but still managed excellent service. Even offered our 91 year old a lift as we couldn’t get a taxi.
Best roast potatoes.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Jo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2019 via mobile

We went in a large group for some after work drinks and had a great time. The staff were truly lovely and made the evening this much more pleasant.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank Kristi9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2018 via mobile

The menu runs rather too much to burgers and similar for our taste but the two salads we chose were very good and the crumble was excellent. No frills space.

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank A3689BTrichards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2018

So nice and relaxed. Kid and dog friendly! The outside space is so nice in the summer and the selections of gins is impressive! :)

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank florab899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Jolly Gardeners also viewed

 

Been to The Jolly Gardeners? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing