We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A disapppointing meal”

Royal National Theatre
Ranked #3,085 of 22,373 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Hatfield Heath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A disapppointing meal”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Whilst the general ambiance is good, the restaurant clean and inviting, and the staff friendly and efficient, our overall experience was spoilt by the food (which is after all the main purpose of a meal). The presentation of the food was attractive enough but the quality was terrible. Both the food and the wine was overpriced and this did not represent good value for money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    91
    29
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Too formal for an innovative venue”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were visiting the National to see the brilliant 'Light Princess' and decided to eat at the Mezzanine restaurant which looked as though it had been recently renovated with lots of light and white decor. I chose an Omelette Arnold Bennett, apparently created for and named after the author who stayed at the Savoy whilst writing Imperial Palace. It was delicious with a mellow smoked haddock, fluffy egg and smooth hollandaise. My elder daughter had a chestnut and mushroom pasta dish which was fairly ordinary, and the younger roasted hake with a potato and apple chowder which was miniscule. The atmosphere was very formal with no music but the evening was saved by ordering the milk chocolate bavarois with coffee brulee and almond biscuit which we were able to have during the interval at our table.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Genni22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrace bar and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

The staff were very helpful, we had a vegan in our party which limited the choices to nothing - but they did manange to produce something. Also produced a more comprehensive gluten free menu as well.
Portions are small - but the menu does state that they are - not quite tapas and not quite a full meal.
The food was very good, service excellent and the atmosphere lovely and relaxed, great place to have a bite to eat before the show or even if you just want to get out of the crowds of the South bank but still feel part of vibe.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Roderick34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great food at reasonable cost”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013 via mobile

Visited National to see Othello - with Adrian Lester and Rory Kinnear acting main roles. Amazing acting - we had a brilliant night. Great food too - both restaurants above average compared to other theatres.

Helpful?
Thank Mog25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good choice for a pre theatre meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2013

We ate a meal here prior to a theatre visit on October 4 2013. We had no problem getting a table as we arrived at 5.30 when it opened. There are tables inside and on the terrace but we chose inside(although terrace looked tempting). As recommended on the menu we chose 3 tapas each plus a carafe of rose and some bread and olive tapenade to start. We followed it with sticky toffee pudding with some gorgeous salted caramel ice cream and coffee. The bill came to £67 for the 2 of us which included service. The service was excellent, attentive without being "in your face".
We thoroughly enjoyed the food, its nice when a restaurant gives you some guidance on how much to order, tapas size can vary. It was freshly cooked and just the right amount before an evening at the theatre. We could have ordered more if we wished. Location and ambience was just right. Will definitely go again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anniecrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal National Theatre also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Royal National Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing