We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient place for a tasty pre-theatre meal”

Royal National Theatre
Ranked #2,877 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $14
Cuisines: European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Southbank
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Convenient place for a tasty pre-theatre meal”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

We ate a relaxed meal here before seeing a matinee performance of Othello at the National Theatre. The whole menu is made up of tapas sized dishes to share and we enjoyed the courgette fritti, octopus salad, broad bean crisps and a mixed salad. The service was fast and
efficient. We had wine and coffee too. Being able to book meant that we did not have to scout
around trying to find somewhere pleasant in the locality before the performance.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    91
    29
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“pre-theatre meal at the Terrace restaurant”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

I ate here with my daughter prior to seeing Othello.We ordered lamb cutlets,frites,fried courgettes,salad and calamari.The portions are small and are intended to share.They were all delicious.I also enjoyed my Chilean Sauvignon Blanc from an interesting wine list.Prices were reasonable.I will certainly eat there again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amandadavies43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Before or after the play”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

The cafe at the National Theatre is an excellent spot for a quick, light meal, glass of wine and good coffee. Very peaceful place to prepare for or unwind from excellent theatre

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shakespeare357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
73 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience on the Terrace.”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

The problem with this Tripadvisor report is the fact that there are at least 3 restaurants at the National in the same listing, hence it makes finding your way through the reports as difficult as finding your way around the Theatre building itself. This visit was for a Pre-Show meal at The Terrace restaurant, and I have to confess to listing it on Book-a-table initially as this was how we had booked our 'early' table.. I have recently discovered that, in fact, they never published it, presumably as it did not rate the restaurant to a high enough standard. So the first thing I offer readers is never make any notice of other sites comments you can be sure TripAdvisor will tell it all! Now, the meal. All started well, a friendly reception and the offer to seat outside if we wanted - and, since it was a lovely evening we opted for this. The table was fine and the waiter quickly explained the menu as it was a Tapas style and you were recommended to have 3 courses for a main meal. We ordered and drinks arrived quickly and correctly, followed by starters - albeit missing the requested bread. We didn't think about the bread at the time as the starters were very nice and a 'fun' experience. Then we sat back to await the main course..... and wait we did !!! The waiters seemed to have vanished and no-one was able to do anything. One couple gave up on waiting for their bill and went inside to pay. Finally after more than half an hour at least a waiter did come out and on asking when we would have our meal we were told there was a 'Car Crash' in the Kitchen but it shouldn't be long now. It did, indeed, arrive in 5 minutes or so, and was tasty if a little on the small side. We decided no to dessert or coffee, normally my favourite part of a meal - as the show would be starting fairly soon. The long delay meant we missed seeing the display's in the foyer as we had wanted to - and to make it worse, the Head Waitress was very rude as we paid and certainly did not apologise for the horrendous delay. Even if the possibility of a lengthy meal doesn't put you off, it is also worth pointing out that the 3 course main meal is certainly a 'top end price' for an average offering. For me it's back to some of the other South Bank restaurants next time I want to see a play at the National.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MichCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
68 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Embarrassing!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This review is for the Olivier Cafe, not the restaurant. There is a vast difference. The restaurant is very good, sadly the Olivier Cafe upstairs is not. I struggle to find a comparison but very bad school or motorway food might come close.
I know a visit to our wonderful National Theater is not really about the food, but the pre-performance meal we had last week was an embarrassment. It shouldn't be difficult for a competent cook/chef to produce edible food for such an important and much loved theater.
After our 'dinner' we went out onto the balcony and gazed at the people on the embankment below in the evening sunshine, thoroughly enjoying their street food. I think that's what we'll be doing in future - unless things improve!
Come on NT -

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WiffyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Royal National Theatre also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Royal National Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing