We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great!”
Review of Rajasthan II

Rajasthan II
Ranked #2,132 of 23,023 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: City of London
Granby, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great!”
Reviewed June 25, 2014

Service is great. King cobra beers are a must. Vidal prawns are very hot but very good. We were a large party and they accommodated us even though we did t have a reservation. By 3rd time there they knew us by name. Only downside is it could easily be a 2 hr dinner

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ledgeroni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    60
    16
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
329 reviews
235 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Unexciting menu, small portions, average food, pushy staff”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Really, I think they are fortunate to get as much as a poor rating.

Our host is an avid Indian meal freak and "always" comes here, so..............

They have only the boring Cobra and Kingfisher beers, neither of which I drink, and they were reluctant to bring me a glass of water, trying to make me have "still or sparkling". the other 5 guests had beers.

These days menus in Indian restaurants have moved away from the boring sameness that had put me off a few years ago, but there was little to excite over and above standard fare. I opted for tandoori kIng prawn to start and got precicely that - one (just about) king size prawn - for about £7

My main was another tandoori dish (shows how little there was to excite - I cannot remember the last time I ate tandoori) and the mixed grill for almost £15 consisted of a smallish quarter chicken, two pieces of lamb tikka, two of chicken tikka and a kebab. The onion bhaji was crispy but almost devoid of onion, and the nan (which I asked to be converted to garlic nan) had so little garlic in it I asked if I had the right one. Tasted just the same as the plain nan.

The staff were pushy, they must have tried to get us to have extra beers at least 10 times (although getting an extra glass of water seemed beyond them. When we were paying one of our party was a little slow as he rhad been spied by a friend and stopped for a couple of minutes to chat. The waiter got stroppy and said "I have better things to do than hang around waiing with the credit card machine".

The others all declared their meals "ok", without much enthusiasm.

There are much better options local to this place, so avoid.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank gloandbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“My favourite Indian restaurant in London”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

I been here a number of time and always recommend it to friends.

Last time I was there I had lamb bhuna which was excellent. The staff were friendly and we didn't have to wait long for our food.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matt_in_York
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaverton, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Nice masala, downtown location”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

I'm on a business trip and this place was recommended to me based on the proximity to my hotel. Good food and service, I had the chicken tikka masala, with some garlic naan. The food was good, perhaps not spectacular. I was seated right in front of an office door which meant I had staff going in and out behind me, which was a drag. But generally it was a reasonable mask, the pickle was nice and spicy and the kingfisher was nice and cold!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidcstewart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Dora, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 281 helpful votes
“Detached waiters and average food”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We expected something better after reading the urbanspoon ratings. We ended up feeling rushed although they weren't very busy. Waiters were unwilling to really attempt to describe "hot'. There were 2 kinds of Indian beer. When asked what the difference is, they said they are the same. Really? Not helpful is what I'd say. The food was OK. Not bad. Not great. Would I go back. No.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank mommabean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajasthan II also viewed

London, England
 

Been to Rajasthan II? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing