We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mixed bag for a restaurant” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Osteria Del Mercato

Osteria Del Mercato
Reserve with OpenTable
Osteria Del Mercato is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10,540 of 22,204 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: City of London
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mixed bag for a restaurant”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have eaten here twice - most recently was in August. The first time I was really impressed with the quality and taste of the food - although I did find myself prior to the second visit mentioning to my guest that although the food looked a bit lacking, the taste more than made up for it. However, on the second visit the restaurant was entirely empty (at about 7.30pm on a thursday), and although the staff were friendly and attentive, the food was undercooked with one plate having to go back to the chef. Unfortunately with the pricing of the food here, the standard should be much higher - so I haven't been back. Not a bad little place, but unfortunately seems to have gone downhill.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    29
    7
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Justifiably popular...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Situated in Leadenhall Market (itself worth a visit, if you don't know it) and close to Lloyd's of London, this small authentic Italian restaurant is often crowded.
The fact that it is popular with the insurance market's Italian contingent is also a testament to its quality and atmosphere.
Mind the stairs going up - but more important, hang on going down!
The food is always freshly (and well) cooked and the menu is changed reasonably often.
Each day there is a special pasta dish and a special risotto.
If I have a niggle, it's only that the dessert menu (though good) is quite short - but I am famously fond of my "puds".
Service is friendly, helpful and usually very good - though they do get quite rushed just after 1pm.
Coffee, as one might expect, is top-notch and the carefully chosen wine list rarely disappoints.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great italian food in an un-italian meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

This place really confused me. Their pasta only comes in main course size - which is completely against the rhythm of a normal italian meal which would be antipasto and/or pasta followed by a main course of meat or fish. So you have to choose, or leave a lot uneaten which at these prices (£14 ish for pasta) is not good.
That said, the pasta was excellent - my favourite Roman pasta, bucatini cacio e pepe, is hard to find in London, and my partner's veal sauce was equally well made. Delicious desserts, well chosen wine list. A 'baby' super tuscan was £30. It's well targeted for the local (mostly male) market of city workers. But a more flexible attitude to customer requests (I asked both the waitress and the manager for a small portion and was - politely - refused by both) might bring both more female customers and more revenue (two courses cost more than one!).

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank citygirl02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Well worth scaling the stairs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2012

This is a small very busy Italian restaurant run by Italians. It is often hard to book at lunch because it is so well liked. Access would be an issue for disabled.
The food here is always excellent. I have used it many times. Great pasta specials. Excellent wines too.
It is worth avoiding arriving on the dot of 1.00 for lunch.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank marcopolo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
31 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent italian hidden gem in the middle of the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

I love this restaurant. When you are there you feel like being in a proper italian restaurant.
I have taken there many friends from Italy and from different parts of the world and they have all loved it so much.
The service is great, the cook sometimes comes at the table and shares with guests his passion for his authentic dishes.
He prepares a "reinvented" pesto wich is the best I ever had, and I am italian, you can trust.
I would suggest it for intimate nights but most of all for groups.
I celebrated there my birthday for more than 20 people and it was like being at home. Decor is cozy, every single detail - starting from the Vietri Sul mare porcelains, will remind you that you are in a really authentic italian restaurant!

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pantarei7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Osteria Del Mercato also viewed

 

Been to Osteria Del Mercato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing