We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best restaurant I have ever eaten at, and I've done a few.”

sketch Lecture Room and Library
Ranked #53 of 22,375 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $45 - $186
Cuisines: French, European, British, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Mayfair
Description: 2 Michelin star-awarded Sketch offers a breathtaking gastronomic experience in the exclusive neighbourhood of Mayfair. The unique restaurant stretches over 4 spaces, covering everything from tea and pastries to French and European haute cuisine. The Lecture Room & Library is a sophisticated and exclusive dining area, awarded its first Michelin Star in 2005, along with 5 AA Rosettes. The tasting and a la carte menus are designed by the 3 Michelin-starred French master chef Pierre Gagnaire, while the acclaimed wine list was awarded 'Best Award for Excellence' by the Wine Spectator and AA Guide's Best UK Wine List.' There is a smart dress code and gentlemen are required to wear jackets The Gallery is a stylish and vibrant gastro-brasserie with 3 AA Rosettes. Surrounded by ever-changing site specific video exhibitions by emerging artists and designers, The Gallery also features hand painted Julie Verhoeven chairs. The magical ambience of The Glade's Swarovski encrusted and sunset-strewn woodland bar provides the perfect lounge setting. Elegant Louis XV seating features in the quirky and eccentric patisserie, restaurant and bar of The Parlour. Experience breakfast, comfort food and afternoon tea until the last drink before home.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best restaurant I have ever eaten at, and I've done a few.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Impeccable service and the food is to die for. In fact if you're on death row then this is your last wish.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EyHombre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    547
    127
    37
    18
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

We visited Sketch for a special occasion after hearing rave reviews about the place, we were not disappointed. The decor is fantastic, so quirky and really adds to the whole experience of dining. You almost wanted to keep going to the toilets especially, I won't give too much away but they're brilliant.
The service was second to none and the food ordered was exceptional. Sketch by no means is a cheap place to dine but it's definitely worth paying the money for the experience of the place. Not pretentious or stuck up, just fantastic.

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
316 reviews
267 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 288 helpful votes
“Very impressive dining experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Sketch Lecture Room and Library is the London establishment of Michelin starred chef Pierre Gagnaire. I've been meaning to give Sketch a try, but for some reason or another I never got around to doing so until now.

On a day to day basis the kitchen is headed by Jean-Denis Le Bras and he seems to be doing something right as this year Sketch Lecture Room and Library was awarded a second Michelin star.

Sketch consists of several different areas. Sketch Lecture Room and Sketch Parlour are more casual while Sketch Lecture Room and Library the exclusive dining area upstairs. In addition to these three dining there is a members bar and a cocktail bar.

The interior has a big wow factor. Upon entering the restaurant you're greeted by friendly David, who makes you feel right at home. He'll escort you upstairs to the dining area, which consists of two areas.

The interior upstairs in the Sketch Lecture Room and Library is slightly less funky and more conservative than downstairs, but still it's easily one of the most impressive dining areas I've ever seen (only Apsleys comes close in terms of impressive dining rooms).

Even though Pierre Gagnaire isn't cooking in the kitchen his stamp is all over Sketch Lecture Room and Library as he designs the dishes with Jean-Denis Le Bras.

During our visit to Sketch Lecture Room and Library we tried the Tasting menu which consisted of the following dishes:
-Feuilletés (8/10)
-Foie Gras: Olive Jelly / Red Pepper Coulis / Diced Foie Gras / Watermelon and Mirin / Rose and Mint / Olive Powder (8/10)
-Seabream: Sea Bream Marinated in Kombu Seaweed / Brown Shrimps / Buckwheat Pancake (9/10)
-Scallops: Roast Hand-dived Scottish Scallops / Baked Ricotta / Artichoke / Paris Mushroom Consommé with Tapioca (9.5/10)
-Blue Lobster: Lightly-cooked Blue Lobster / Pickled Girolles / Aged Gruyère / Traditional Bisque (9.5/10)
-Duck: Challans Duck Fillet with a Marmalade of Red Cabbage and Quetsch / Red Port Sauce / Sarawak Black Pepper (8/10)
-Pierre Gagnaire’s Grand Dessert: A Combination of Five Desserts (8/10)
-Petits Fours (8/10)

The food at Sketch Lecture Room and Library is generally very good (on par with experiences at other 2 Michelin star restaurants). Particularly the Scallops and the Blue Lobster dishes are very good. The Foie gras dish may not be to everyone's liking (strong black olives' flavour), but I enjoyed it.

There is however room for improvement at Sketch Lecture Room and Library. For instance:
-I had two glasses of wine during my dinner, but I wasn't offered the opportunity to taste the wines before my glasses were pored.
-The bread comes with two types of butter (salted and unsalted). We ran out of the salted butter and weren't offered some more salted butter.

However, these are small niggles and overall the service and dining experience at Sketch Lecture Room and Library is one of the best to be had in London. If you want to celebrate a special occasion or impress someone a dinner at Sketch Lecture Room and Library is a very good way to go.

As is the be expected, Sketch Lecture Room and Library is not cheap (e.g., the non-vegetarian tasting menu costs £95 pp excluding drinks, etc), but the pricing is in line with other 2 star Michelin restaurants.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank TKB001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“More than exceptional experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Only by occasion we went to have dinner at the sketch lecture room on a Tuesday this October. After we were personally greeted by David at the entrance, we were led into the big dining room which was the first wow-effect when the big doors were opened. Everything following was a single tunning moment from starter, apertitivs, main course and a terrific selection of five platter desert. Like most of my prespeakers here underpinned, the toilets were an absolute design highlight. After dinner we were invited to take a magnificent cocktail at the bar downstairs. Had a fancy one with rosemary, pepper and gin.
Have seen many places around the world, but this one has become for sure one of my favourites!
Go there and get thrilled yourself.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruja_mayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Brilliant service, wonderful food and a fabulous quirky atmosphere. Taster menu is highly recommended but be prepared for desert!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed sketch Lecture Room and Library also viewed

 

Been to sketch Lecture Room and Library? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing