We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food, excellent service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Chardon - Clapham - CLOSED

Le Chardon - Clapham
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I have recently moved to Abbeville and are very excited about trying all the restaurants the road has to offer. Armed with our taste card we set off to Le Chardon last Friday night. We were welcomed and shown to our table and drinks service was prompt. The waiter was really helpful with recommendations. We had prawns and mussels to start followed by lamb rump and lamb shank with vegetables and potato gratin on the side. The rump was done beautifully and so was the lamb. We shared a apple tarte tartin which was superb, the best one we've tasted so far. All in all we had a lovely evening and left very satisfied and happy customers. As for the service charge; I think it is perfectly reasonable to add a discretionary 12.5% to the bill as the service was fast, efficient, friendly and helpful. Very happy we have such a fantastic restaurant just down the road.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruqayya F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    16
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
132 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Excellent food, no musak”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

Had lunch here. Set lunch and light lunch both looked excellent. We both had 2 starters, snails and beef. Both were excellent. The service is prompt, cheerful and unobtrusive. In all, a good experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grannywalescc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a rip off!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

I bought a voucher through DealCloud - £25 for £55 worth of food. We went to the restaurant on a Thursday evening (3 of us) and ordered 3 starters (£8.50 each) and one main course (£14.50). We also had 8 drinks average (less than £5 each) and 3 desserts at £6.95 each (another rip off) - when the bill came it was nearly £140 - we had been charged for full meals for 2 of the starters (we ordered prawns and there were no main course prawn dishes, we ordered starters deliberately because we didn't fancy a full meal) and nobody asked about whether we wanted main course portions. When we questioned this we were told that they assumed it was a main course (although there was no prawn main course option) and they charged us double. On top of this we had a 12.5% service charge so the entire bill was highly inflated. I would not recomment - voucher or no voucher.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
154 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Average food, nice atmosphere, good service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

The food at Le Chardon is average for the high prices charged. I went for the Prawns to start, which were pleasant but not outstanding. The main of Rib-eye steak was again very average and I disliked the peppercorn sauce - I cannot understand why a green peppercorn sauce if offered rather than traditional black peppercorn sauce. The sides of garlic fresh vegetables were again very average. The pommes frites were extremely greasy.

As other have said, its OK, with decent service and atmosphere, but plenty of better places out there particularly for the money.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rozzerr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“bad duck”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

nice and cosy, the other compoanions' food was apprently OK but the duck was the worst I've ever had in my life. It was so tough I could have starpped it to my feet and walked home on it

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank brixtontrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Chardon - Clapham also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing