We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was a fantastic Lebannese Restaurant” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fontana Restaurant - CLOSED

Fontana Restaurant
Price range: $32 - $50
Cuisines: Lebanese, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Derby
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“It was a fantastic Lebannese Restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

I visited Fontana a couple of times in late 2011 and experienced some spectacular Mediterranean dishes (humous to die for!). Unfortunately, Fontana is now gone (maybe somewhere else?) and it is now an Italian restaurant, for which there is quite strong competition in the immediate locality. Good luck to La Fiamma, but we will miss Fontana dearly.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JetSetMiner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    8
    0
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lyon
Level Contributor
48 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Mediteranean influence”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

in fact not disapointed by the previous comments, this is a good honnest lebanee/mediteranean restaurant. Good service, ambiance / decoration ok. Most important what is in the plate : I tasted a grilled mix (kebab, lam, chicken) plus a cumcumber salad : both were great : cooked to the minute and extremely weel (juicy chicken, crisp and tender lamb), extremely fresh prodcuts, good balance of spices.
Wine somewhat expensive though.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank belaril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“wonderful Middle Eastern restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2011

We found this near our hotel, Lancaster London, and loved it. Great service, and did not ignore us like another place our concierge sent us to. The best marinated chicken dish I have ever had. Reasonable prices too. Had mezzas plate of 6 items. It is Lebanese with Moroccan items on menu too, but recognized as much of what could be considered middle eastern. We had wine too. We showed up between 6:30 & 7 pm. hungry. You will not regret going here. We spent around 56 Pounds for the 2 of us.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HoosierIU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Fresh, friendly - good find”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

I stumbled across this restaurant by good fortune. It serves Lebonese cuisine, and like many restaurants of this type provides simple, enjoyable fare, which relies on the use of herbs and spices to make the food memorable. I had a really delicious meal, with great, friendly and polite service. There were a mix of people in the place - I was on my own, but there was a big family group, a sprinkling of couples and a group of friends. I would say it would suit all groups, and I noticed that the service and attention to detail was really good with everyone dining.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank English_RosieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
189 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2011

Great place to go for something different. The food is fresh and there is a lot of choice. The portions are large and the staff very friendly

  • Visited May 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AmyDan09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fontana Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing