We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dated and poor value for money”
Review of Flavors of India

Flavors of India
Ranked #2,590 of 22,853 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Earth
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Dated and poor value for money”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The starters were ok but my wife's chicken chat had too much onion, not enough salad and not enough chicken. My chicken hyderabadi was pleasant enough but was lonely on the plate with no accompaniments.

Popadoms were very poor quality and not what I would expect.

The main courses were also poor with my wife's chicken jalfrezi had too much onion and not enough chicken. My chicken methi followed a similar pattern with too much sauce and not enough chicken.

The decor would have been alright in the early 1980s but really needs a revamp. The front of a Tata truck serving as the bar / service area at the rear of the ground floor is a feature but really the look as worn out. As for the brick effects tacked up on the wall round the place that needs to go as well.

Overall poor value for money. Others preferred infact pretty much any other preferred.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Des_Gruntled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    144
    47
    24
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Florida, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“GREAT CURRY”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

WOW!
First time I have ever been to this restaurant although lots of my friends has recommended this to me.
The food was fab and service was outstanding. Although the restaurant was very busy but the staff looked after very well.
I would recommend this to anyone who has not been there.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajesh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“overpriced with small portions”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

So I decided to get Indian take away with a friend and we called in with our order and went there to pick it up (as they don't deliver). Even though we mentioned the numbers of the dishes it turns out they misheard most of our order and changes had to be made. They were awfully nice about it, but I was very hungry by the end of the transaction.
The bill was also giving me a bit of a fright. Rather expensive for a take out, but maybe the size and taste would make up for it. To be honest the taste was great, but the size of the portions was rather disappointing. Lets just say there were no left overs. Unheard off when it comes to Indian take away.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jules H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tasty food”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

lip smacking flavours in every meal. Service is quick and its always crowded from 7:30 pm to 9:00 pm

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Waseem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
birmingham, england
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Small but with big flavors”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Only a small resturant but food was good, menu was large with some dishes I had not seen before, value for the area was very good, staff were plesant, I would be happy to go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank cavus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Flavors of India also viewed

 

Been to Flavors of India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing