We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet but good”

Dim t - Charlotte Street
Order Online
Ranked #6,756 of 27,721 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Fitzrovia
Reviewed December 9, 2018 via mobile

Saturday afternoon, quiet lunch with friends sitting at the back of the restaurant. The food was good, staff helpful. We had a lot of dishes and stayed 2.5 hours.
There are prettier Dim T locations, and ones with more atmosphere, but this was a good choice for us.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank 501simonh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimtrestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Dim t - Charlotte Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2018

Thanks for your kind comments.
We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit and have passed your comments on to the team.
See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 201 reviews

Reviewed December 6, 2018 via mobile

Nice food. Chilled ambience. Friendly staff. Reasonable prices. Their dumplings were amazing we ordered two lots ;)

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank rubydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimtrestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Dim t - Charlotte Street, responded to this reviewResponded December 12, 2018

Thanks for your kind comments rubydiamond.
We have passed your comments on to the team and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

Having visited these restaurants on/off over last 10 yrs this was a very poor experience and I will not be returning. My first thoughts was that it looked dirty, old food on floor and shabby.

Hardly any customers so no excuses for dirty, unmade tables.

The starters arrived quickly after ordering but the drinks took ages, only arriving after we had had to ask as we could see them sitting on the bar. By this time we had almost finished our starters.

When the main courses arrived we asked for some more drinks and again we were close to finishing our mains and had had to ask twice about where they were.

Out of 4 main courses only 1 was ok. One of our party ordered chicken noodle soup and described it as tasting like ‘dish water’! The pad Thai noodles had a strange smell and taste to them too (it’s a dish we have regularly at other places so we are familiar with it). 50% of the meal hardly got touched.

When we told the waitress that the noodle soup wasn’t good she just asked if we had had it before?!!! No apologies, no offer to replace it, no offer to take it off the bill.

Anyway at this point we asked for the bill and left. We all agreed ‘never again’. It’s a shame as it used to be a good place to eat.

Now it looks neglected, unclean, poor food and possibly lack of staff training. We should of trusted our instincts when we arrived but as previously it had been ok we gave it a go. Wish we hadn’t!

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank Michelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimtrestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Dim t - Charlotte Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thanks for your comments Kate B.
We are so sorry to hear about your disappointing experience and would like to look into this.
Would you mind contacting us at info@dimt.co.uk with the details of your visit please? Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2018

2 of us attended this restaurant as we have been to another branch several times with very good service. The waiters were really quite indifferent and untrained. It took him nearly 10 minutes to come over to our table and take an order, which he completely misunderstood, resulting in him piling 6 orders of dim sum on our table to begin. The main problem was that in this empty restaurant, 2 other diners began playing loud irritating videos on their mobile phones and then laughing and shouting about them. When we asked them to stop they became rude and shouted back at us saying they could do as they like. The one person behind the till just pretended not to notice until we got up and approached the staff to let them know what was happening. The other diners, meanwhile just kept us a steady barrage of verbal abuse. We were then asked if we'd like to move to another part of the restaurant. We declined and left the premises in anger. I would never go back to this place, and I would recommend that it is avoided. Badly managed and staffed.

Date of visit: August 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JIm H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimtrestaurant, Public Relations Manager at Dim t - Charlotte Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2018

Thanks for your comments JIm H.
We are so sorry to read your comments and would like to look into these.
Would you mind contacting us at info@dimt.co.uk with the details of your visit please?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2018 via mobile

Relaxed atmosphere that makes you feel transported to an eastern tea shop. Good variety of Asian food and attentive service if in the mood for a quicker, casual meal.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JonathanC5876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dimtrestaurant, Guest Relations Manager at Dim t - Charlotte Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2018

We love your comments, especially that we made you feel like you were transported to an eastern tea shop.
Thank you and see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dim t - Charlotte Street also viewed

 
London, England
 

Been to Dim t - Charlotte Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing