We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Evening meal”

China City - Russell Square
Ranked #5,376 of 23,009 Restaurants in London
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Bloomsbury
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Evening meal”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

We called at this restaurant as it was close to the Hotel and we had had a busy day and was tired. We all ordered the cheapest set meal as it was a little pricey for five of us. The meal was good, tasty and fresh unfortunately some of the staff were a bit miserable.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Diane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    97
    44
    22
    41
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Emerald Isle, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Every restaraunt has seen its day”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

We have visited this restaurant many times over the last five or so years. We ate in the establishment when it first opened and were favorably impressed. We then ate there again and were very happy. We looked forward to our visit last month, Sept 2013, and am sorry to say that it was a disaster. The service was nonexistent. We waited to have a person take our order and found everything to be of POOR quality. The tea was muddy brown in color and lacked any taste. I ordered duck and there was a side order of seaweed placed on the plate. It tasted like dried seaweed from the sea. The egg rolls were outstandingly bad. I waited ten minutes for the bill to arrive at the table but realized it would not happen and walked to the cash register where I asked the young man to give us a bill. I paid for the meal and then asked the man to read our review of the meal. I'm not sure if he could read the note but then the female manager appeared. we INFORMED HER OF THE DISAPPOINTED WE EXPERIENCED and told her that we would write this review. I'm sorry to have to write this review but feel it is needed. A number of the restaurants in this area of London have changed ownership recently and like everything age catches up with us all and in this case mortality should come quickly or the rebirth of a new establishment is needed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank vinpeter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
319 reviews
212 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“A decidedly average Chinese”
Reviewed October 3, 2013

It had been many years since I had been to this restaurant, but as I was in the area with 3 colleagues, we decided to give it a try for dinner. It was not as I remembered it and it was very average to say the least. As the four of us shared each dish, we had at least twelve and none of them was out of the ordinary, some were bland and boring. The surroundings are also drab and the service just about passable.
Not a place to rush back to

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food, Poor service”
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I've eaten here a couple of years ago and enjoyed the excellent food, with acceptable service quality. But this time I had a working lunch with a colleague from overseas and the service was embarrassingly poor. The waiter who showed us to our table was barely polite and quickly went back to his own table to finish his lunch, it took some time to order, we had to ask for soy sauce and constantly request more tea (rather than have the waiters ask us if we wanted more) and the delay between just two simple courses was such that it took two hours (12.00-2.00) to have a two course meal. The management must have changed since I was last here and they need urgently to train their staff in the basics of politeness and service etiquette,

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JennyandPeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent food and great value for money”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

This restaurants food was fantastic and great value for money. we arrived before 5pm and was able to get the deal of 2 meals for £6.95. I have to say it was the best Chinese I have had and if staying in the location again I would go back.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed China City - Russell Square also viewed

London, England
London, England
 

Been to China City - Russell Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing