We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Lebanese cuisine hidden away” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byblos Harbour

Byblos Harbour
Ranked #6,290 of 22,199 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely Lebanese cuisine hidden away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

Have been eating here once every month or so for a couple of years now. Definitely my favourite Lebanese restaurant in the local area. Very good food, friendly staff and they also have shisha outside by the river. All in all good value.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Imraan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    40
    6
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
241 reviews
126 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Lovely food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

Situated in the heart of the Isle of Dogs, this restaurant is easy to find and only five minutes from the Blackwall Tunnel.
Once found, the host was very welcoming and it was nice to see locals eating there although it was by no means busy for a Saturday night and there was no need to book. This may be very different during the week when the banking sector staff are back to work!
The food selection is Lebanese which appears to be a mixture of Greek, Turkish and Moroccan and there is a good choice. We went for a mixed cold mezza starter and a mixed grill main which included chicken, lamb and kofta served with wild rice.
The only beer served is Lebanese Brew, a nice malty flavoured lager but there is a good selection of spirits and wines.
The atmosphere was a little quiet but is reasonably priced and I should imagine it livens up during the week. I would recommend you pay this place a visit.
Enjoy.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Davethetraveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walt Disney World, Florida
Level Contributor
80 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Tasty food and friendly service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Lovely food at reasonable price. We had a full menu with 4 cold mezze and 4 hot mezze plus grilled lamb and chicken with rice, dessert and a bottle of rose wine for 60 quid (2people) the decor is non pretentious and we saw some people smoking shisha outside. Right on the waterfront. The waitress and boss could not do enough to please us. Very happy altogether and would definately go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LIFEJOURNEYWORLDWIDE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“OUT OF THE WAY BUT OK”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

Good Lebanese cuisine. Off the beaten track but a nice find. Service uneven but friendly. I went back a couple of times, maybe three. Recommend.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kingpin26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
116 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A very good mezze meal at a fair price”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Byblos Harbour may not be the fanciest restaurant you would choose for a special occasion, but if you are looking for a good meal around Millwall and the Docklands, it will be a very good option. From the outside, at the foot of a residential block facing Millwall Inner Dock, the glass wall entirely showing the restaurant's interior looks quite attractive, although the space inside turns out to be somewhat anonymous: a counter with kebab grills behind it, a dozen tables (most of them empty the night we dined there), a television screen hanging on a wall (I don't like television screens in restaurants – when I want to watch TV, I stay at home).
The most important thing, though, is that the food is very good and service is very polite. The mezze set menu, available for at least two people, is probably the best choice, as you can try several different mezze (typical Middle-Eastern small dishes), four cold and four hot, for just 8 pounds per person. I particularly appreciated the classic hummus and the moutabal (similar to hummus, but made of a grilled purée of aubergines instead of chickpeas). A more expensive set menu – including, besides the selection of mezze, a main course of grilled lamb or chicken and a dessert – is also available for at least two people, but the mezze menu is more than enough for a full meal: I couldn't have eaten more. If you prefer a main course instead of the mezze, the grilled lamb and chicken served with rice look good too. I would also recommend the mint tea.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LR71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byblos Harbour also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Byblos Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing