We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot. Perfect for gluten free diners”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Bistro Fifteen

Bistro Fifteen
Ranked #9,529 of 22,367 Restaurants in London
Price range: $26 - $384
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: South Kensington
Description: our menus bring a fresh approach to modern Mediterranean and European classics. Whether meat, fish, pasta or salad, we introduce a touch that lifts each dish, ensuring it remains long in the memory. Take our duck breast, for example. Here a delicious chocolate dolce forte sauce ensures this menu-standard becomes something vey special. Many of our diners are drawn by a West End show or a concert at the nearby Royal Albert Hall. But this is destination dining, not simply pre- or post- theatre convenience. Fresh ingredients, homemade stocks, local sourcing and artfully prepared dishes, thanks to the guiding hand of our Executive Chef Giuseppe Cusimano, mean Fifteen Cromwell Place is gathering a reputation across Kensington, Knightbridge and beyond. Alongside the menu, we offer a wonderful range of wines, many of which are organic.
Toronto
Level Contributor
208 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great spot. Perfect for gluten free diners”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Enjoyed a really nice lunch here recently. Small, quaint place underground, but with enough windows to let the light in. Not busy at all. They have nice gluten free bread and a nice lunch menu. Fish was very tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Greg799
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    18
    3
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Herts
Level Contributor
311 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
“A lovely place and so convenient for all the museums”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had an early dinner. The starters were all superb...goat's cheese ravioli with rabbit ragu was particularly good; scallops with pancetta and herb sauce very tasty; main course of venison was a little tough; deserts were great, particularly the rhubarb combination and the chocolate combination. There was a slight mix up in how the 2for1 taste card offer worked, but as a result, we were offered a glass of wine each. The service throughout was first class, the ambiance lovely...it was a particularly pleasant evening, even if it did work out as a little more expensive than initially anticipated!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 5_9_2_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
487 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 455 helpful votes
“A jewel in the basement”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

No more than a minute’s walk from South Kensington Station, 3 to the V and A Museum and Imperial College, and 6 -8 to the Royal College of Music and the Albert Hall lies a chic boutique hotel, the Pelham. Its basement contains a restaurant that is more than a little gem: it is actually of great practical use for anyone looking for an interesting, well-prepared, and affordable meal at lunch or dinner. My wife and I tried it out before a Prom concert on a recent visit to the Capital and were once again struck by how accurately the Michelin Red Guide can identify simple culinary bargains as well as the Olympian Temples of High Gastronomy, although not without its quota of disappointments. The descending stone steps give entrance to a charming and homely set of rooms presided over by a small but efficient staff who can get you in and out and well fed without risk of missing a note of music. For dinner, 3 courses --- each with a nice range of four dishes to choose from--- are offered for 18 pounds, or you can miss desert and pay only 15 pounds.
Our starters were a) Seared scallops with Jerusalem artichokes and foie gras veloute; b) Smoked halibut ravioli with haddock chowder. For mains we selected a) Guinea Fowl breast with stuffed leg and fondant potato; b) Sirloin steak with green peppercorn sauce. Deserts were a) Rhubarb crumble with crème anglaise; b) White chocolate crème brulee with raspberry sorbet. The style is English home-cooking at its very best, with high quality ingredients and not lacking in imaginative touches. There is a very acceptable range of wines by the glass costing around 4 – 7 pounds each. I wish we had stumbled into more eating establishments like it during our 3-week trip to France and the British Isles. I have ranked it as I have the Ledbury and other starred restaurants, but in its price category it would easily merit 5.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank davidgoldberg1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
72 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat at before going to the Royal Albert Hall”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

We only came here because it is on the tastecard and we were looking for somewhere to eat before going to the Proms and it turned out to be a good choice. There was only one other table occupied when we got there at 5:30pm so the waiting staff were very attentive. It is in a great location just accross from South Kensington tube.

The menu on the website is out of date but there are some similar dishes to the current menu. I had the sea salad and all the shellfish was great (avoid the brown stuff on the plate though) and then tempura cod for main with a courgette side. My husband had the rabbit to start and then a steak with a runner bean and chorizo side. Even though the portions were minimal it was all very well cooked and tasty.

Two glasses of malbec came to £18 and this really boosted up the bill, which came to £57 in the end. The food was good value as we had the tastecard but I would begrudge paying full price for it without.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travelseahorse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent set menu - perfect for dinner before a gig at Royal Albert Hall!”
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We found this place through our Gourmet society membership and enjoyed a discount on the tasty a la carte menu but the set menulooked excellent value. Restaurant was very quiet at 5.30 on Friday evening but soon had a quiet buzz as more people arrived. only disappointing part of the meal was the Asparagus ravioli but the rabbit terrine, spinach soup and sea trout were all delicious! Would definately return there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Exyorkslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro Fifteen also viewed

 
London, England
London, England
 

Been to Bistro Fifteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing